comscore script

14 named to SEC honor roll

14 named to SEC honor roll

FAYETTEVILLE – The University of Arkansas men’s track and field team placed 14 student-athletes on the 2010 Southeastern Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll headlining a list of 53 total Razorback student-athlete honorees recognized by the league recently.

Under the direction of head coach Chris Bucknam, junior Lane Boyer, junior Michael Chinchar, redshirt freshman Eric Fernandez,redshirt freshman Scott Gillespie,redshirt freshman Aaron Hamilton, redshirt freshman Brandon Heeger, sophomore Justin Holmes, junior Luke Laird, senior Scott MacPherson, sophomore Andrew Pennington, junior Duncan Phillips, redshirt freshman Rob Redwine, sophomore Ben Skidmore and senior Dorian Ulrey all posted grades at or above a 3.00 grade point average.

"We continue to challenge our student-athletes on the field and in the classroom and they continue to respond," said Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long. "Nearly all of the honorees were on teams that advanced to postseason competition. These student-athletes balance high athletic expectations with demanding academic challenges and they succeed at the highest level. We are very proud of their accomplishments."

The SEC Spring Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2009 summer, fall and 2010 spring terms. Student-athletes must meet five criteria including having a grade point average for the preceding year or as a cumulative average, summer school must be including in the calculation if the student-athlete attends, eligibility for the honor roll is open to scholarship and non-scholarship student-athlete, student-athletes must have completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a degree and the student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship season.



Lane Boyer M. Track Geology

Michael Chinchar M. Track International Relations

Eric Fernandez M. Track History

Scott Gillespie M. Track Business

Aaron Hamilton M. Track Criminal Justice

Brandon Heeger M. Track Kinesiology

Justin Holmes M. Track Middle East Studies

Luke Laird M. Track Horticulture

Scott MacPherson M. Track Communications

Andrew Pennington M. Track Art

Duncan Phillips M. Track History

Rob Redwine M. Track International Business

Ben Skidmore M. Track Chemistry

Dorian Ulrey M. Track Sociology

Sports Category : Track & Field (M)