comscore script

2010 NCAA South Central Champions

2010 NCAA South Central Champions

WACO, Texas – Arkansas’ men’s cross country team captured the NCAA South Central Regional Championship title and claimed the second, third and fourth individual spots. With the win, the Razorbacks earned their 31st regional title in program history and secured Arkansas’ 41st trip to the NCAA Championship meet.

Solomon Haile paced the Razorbacks in second place with a 10k time of 30:13.2. Following right behind him was Dorian Ulrey who clocked in at 30:13.3. Eric Fernandez was the next Razorback to cross the line. His time of 30:15.5 earned him fourth overall.

"The goal was not to extend ourselves too much physically, get the job done and get the win with as little effort as possible," head coach Chris Buckman said. "We are going to need every ounce of strength at the NCAA Championships if we are going to compete with the top teams."

Also coming in the top 10 was Lane Boyer who placed eighth overall. His 10k time was 30:29.4. Rick Elliot just missed the top 10, but finished 14th with a time of 30:49.0. Coming in 24th was Arkansas’ Cameron Efurd with a time of 31:03.8.

With a team score of 30 points, Arkansas claimed the title ahead of second-place Texas with 66 points. TCU’s Festus Kigen took the individual title with 30:11.1.

The Razorbacks are set for the NCAA Championships in Terre Haute, Ind., on Nov. 22.

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)