comscore script

2012 Arkansas Hall of Honor Inductee

2012 Arkansas Hall of Honor Inductee

This is the second in a series of stories on the members of the University of Arkansas Hall of Honor Class of 2012. The class includes Edrick Floreal, Andrew Lang, Bill McClard, Bruce Maxwell, Ronn Reynolds, Clyde Rhoden, Jody Rittenhouse, Lisa Sparks, Terry Stewart and Dennis Winston. The official induction is Friday, Aug. 31, at the Holiday Inn Convention Center in Springdale. Tickets are $50 and can be purchased from the Razorback Foundation. For more information, call the Foundation at 479-443- 9000.For four years, Andrew Lang was a significant key to success for men’s basketball at the University of Arkansas.

The 1984 McDonald’s All-American began his career as a Razorback under head coach Eddie Sutton in 1985 and was later a three-year starter for head coach Nolan Richardson.

A former standout at Dollarway High School in Pine Bluff, Ark., he was especially gifted as a defender in the paint. By the end of his college career, Lang had recorded 690 rebounds, 252 blocks and 838 points. Lang also led the Razorbacks in rebounding his sophomore, junior and senior seasons.

Lang achieved career highs twice in 1987 against Texas Tech and Rice when he blocked eight shots against both teams. He is one of just two Arkansas players to lead the team in blocks for four straight seasons. Nearly 25 years later, Lang still holds on to the No. 6 spot on the Razorbacks’ career rebounding list and still ranks No. 3 all-time in blocks.

Lang was a major contributor to two NCAA Tournament teams in his final seasons with the Razorbacks. His stellar performances on the hardwood earned him a spot on the 1988 National Association of Basketball Coaches all-district team.

Lang found further success outside of his cardinal and white jersey. He was drafted with the No. 28 pick by the Phoenix Suns of the National Basketball Association in 1988. Lang played for seven teams during his 12 seasons in the NBA.

For more information regarding inductees in the 2012 Hall of Honor class and University of Arkansas Athletics, please visit

Sports Category :