comscore script

2012 Arkansas Hall of Honor Inductee

2012 Arkansas Hall of Honor Inductee

This is the third in a series of stories on the members of the University of Arkansas Hall of Honor Class of 2012. The class includes Edrick Floreal, Andrew Lang, Bill McClard, Bruce Maxwell, Ronn Reynolds, Clyde Rhoden, Jody Rittenhouse, Lisa Sparks, Terry Stewart and Dennis Winston. The official induction is Friday, Aug. 31, at the Holiday Inn Convention Center in Springdale. Tickets are $50 and can be purchased from the Razorback Foundation. For more information, call the Foundation at 479-443- 9000.

During his career at Arkansas, Bill McClard was known as one of the best kickers in the Southwest Conference and the nation.

McClard took the field for the Razorbacks from 1969-1971 under legendary head coach and former University of Arkansas Athletic Director Frank Broyles.

McClard was a three-year letterman and was a first-team All-American. During his career at Arkansas, McClard connected on 125 of his 133 extra point attempts for a 94 percent success rate. During the 1970 season, he connected on 50 of his 51 PAT attempts. His 98 percent season percentage set school records for single-season PAT makes, which stood until 2007.

McClard ended his career at the University of Arkansas by becoming the program’s record holder in career extra point attempts and makes. He also holds the record for the longest field goal. McClard’s 60-yarder in a 36-3 victory against SMU in 1970 was an NCAA record at the time. The field goal still stands as the third-longest in school history.

McClard was selected in the third round of the 1972 NFL Draft by the San Diego Chargers. He went on to appear in nine games during his rookie season. McClard spent the following three seasons as a kicker for the New Orleans Saints. In his career with the Saints, McClard boasted a 96.7 percentage on PAT attempts. He finished his career with 26 field goals and 31 PATs while appearing in 34 games.

For more information regarding inductees in the 2012 Hall of Honor class and University of Arkansas Athletics, please visit

Sports Category :