comscore script

2012 Arkansas Hall of Honor Inductee

2012 Arkansas Hall of Honor Inductee

This is the fourth in a series of stories on the members of the University of Arkansas Hall of Honor Class of 2012. The class includes Edrick Floreal, Andrew Lang, Bill McClard, Bruce Maxwell, Ronn Reynolds, Clyde Rhoden, Jody Rittenhouse, Lisa Sparks, Terry Stewart and Dennis Winston. The official induction is Friday, Aug. 31, at the Holiday Inn Convention Center in Springdale. Tickets are $50 and can be purchased from the Razorback Foundation. For more information, call the Foundation at 479-443- 9000.

In the late 1960s, Bruce Maxwell became one of the best running backs to ever dress out in a cardinal and white uniform and take the field at Razorback Stadium.

Maxwell, who played football and basketball for Pine Bluff (Ark.) High School, was a member of the Razorback football team from 1966-69 under head coach Frank Broyles.Maxwell’s play at fullback includes 1,558 all-purpose yards with 10 touchdowns. He rushed 272 times for 1,260 yards and six touchdowns, averaging 4.6 yards per carry. In addition to his stats in the backfield, Maxwell caught 31 passes for 298 yards, resulting in four touchdowns. He averaged 9.6 yards receiving.

What may be his best performance was against Ole Miss in the 1970 Sugar Bowl. Maxwell recorded 245 all-purpose yards against the Rebels, the second-highest single- game total at the time. Maxwell’s performance still ranks eight all-time in school history and cemented him as one of the best fullbacks to ever play at the University of Arkansas.

After his storied career at the University of Arkansas, Maxwell was named to the Razorbacks’ All-Decade Team for the 1960s. In 1970, he was selected in the 10th round of the NFL Draft by the Detroit Lions. Maxwell took the field for 11 games during his rookie season.

For more information regarding inductees in the 2012 Hall of Honor class and University of Arkansas Athletics, please visit

Sports Category :