comscore script

2012 Arkansas Hall of Honor Inductee

2012 Arkansas Hall of Honor Inductee

This is the seventh in a series of stories on the members of the University of Arkansas Hall of Honor Class of 2012. The class includes Edrick Floreal, Andrew Lang, Bill McClard, Bruce Maxwell, Ronn Reynolds, Clyde Rhoden, Jody Rittenhouse, Lisa Sparks, Terry Stewart and Dennis Winston. The official induction is Friday, Aug. 31, at the Holiday Inn Convention Center in Springdale. Tickets are $50 and can be purchased from the Razorback Foundation. For more information, call the Foundation at 479-443-9000.

Jody Rittenhouse assisted in the beginning of what is now one of the nation’s most prestigious programs for track and field and cross country. Rittenhouse, a four-year letterman from 1978-81, was the Razorbacks’ first All-American in cross country in 1978.

Rittenhouse was the queen of the mile during her time, winning 10 race titles and was runner-up at the National Indoor Championships in 1979.

Rittenhouse added a pair of outdoor accolades to finish her career as a three-time All- American. Her name is still present in the program’s record books as the fifth-fastest performer in the indoor 1,500 meters and as a member of the No. 3 indoor mile relay team.

In her four seasons as a Razorback, Rittenhouse led the team to 70-33 record while also helping Arkansas qualify for its first national championship appearance in 1981 when it finished 16th in the nation.

For more information regarding inductees in the 2012 Hall of Honor class and University of Arkansas Athletics, please visit

Sports Category :