comscore script

45 on SEC First-Year Honor Roll

45 on SEC First-Year Honor Roll

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – A total of 45 University of Arkansas student-athletes in 18 sports were named to the Southeastern Conference First-Year Academic Honor Roll the league office announced on Thursday.

The Razorbacks’ 45 student-athletes were a portion of 630 that were recognized by the SEC and Arkansas’ swimming and diving and softball teams led the way with seven players each. Some of the majors featured in Arkansas’ 45-person lineup include kinesiology, accounting, economics, journalism, nursing and mechanical engineering.

"Congratulations to the 45 first-year Razorback student-athletes who have earned recognition on the SEC honor roll," Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. "These young men and women have achieved success in the classroom while balancing the numerous demands of student-athletes at the University of Arkansas. We are proud of their efforts and look forward to their future success as representatives of the University of Arkansas."

Along with their academics, Arkansas’ group of student-athletes also accumulated four All-America honors, two all-region selections, five All-SEC accolades, three SEC All-Freshman team honors, earned one SEC Co-Freshman of the Year award and were named SEC Athlete of the week six times.

Arkansas’ 45 student-athletes named to the first-year academic honor roll include: Sam Bates (baseball-sport management), Eric Fisher (baseball-kinesiology), Brandon Moore (baseball-kinesiology), Pierce Trumper (baseball-sport management), Kikko Haydar (m. basketball-exercise science), Rickey Scott (m. basketball-undeclared), Daunte Carr (football-kinesiology), Garret Ukeman (football-kinesiology), Sebastian Cappelean (m. golf-economics), Will Meason (m. golf-finance), Emily Tubert (w. golf-kinesiology), Bailee Zumwalde (gymnastics-kinesiology), Callie Authier (soccer-nursing), Margo Davis (soccer-undeclared), Yvonne DesJarlais (soccer-undeclared), Jenn Fryrear (soccer-undeclared), Jessie Givens (soccer-childhood education), Bethany Labac (soccer-pre-dental), Sierra Bronkey (softball-kinesiology), Macy Burr (softball-art), Jayme Gee (softball-sport management), Amanda Geile (softball-childhood education), Linnea Ketcher (softball-dietetics), Ashley Martindale (softball-kinesiology), Jennifer Rambo (softball-kinesiology), Liz Braun (swimming-psychology), Aubrey Hertzler (swimming-dietetics), Julia Kucherich (swimming-kinesiology), Carly Mercer (swimming-journalism), Molly Milborn (swimming-nursing), Kesha Naylor (swimming-kinesiology), Lizzy Whitbeck (swimming-engineering), Michael Nott (m. tennis-business), Jade Frampton (w. tennis-journalism), Nii Ayi (m. track-political science), Tom Cattin-Masson (m. track-mechanical engineering), Nathanael Franks (m. track-physics), Noah Kittelson (m. track-biology), Kevin Lazas (m. track-economics), Kirsten Hesseltine (w. track-childhood education), Ivanique Kemp (w. track-accounting), Diane Robison (w. track-kinesiology), Brooke Fournier (volleyball-kinesiology), Hayley Koop (volleyball-art), Raymariely Santos (volleyball-kinesiology).

To be eligible for the first-year award, student-athletes must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above, be on scholarship or a letterwinners, have completed 24 semester hours and been a member of a varsity squad for the entire year.

Sports Category :