FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. - University of Arkansas baseball head coach Dave Van Horn has announced the signing of 14 players for the 2010-11 season. With five seniors on this year's team and the potential hit to the roster following the 2010 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, the Razorbacks fill multiple positions with this signing class. All 14 members will enter the Razorback baseball program as freshmen.
"We were able to take care of some of the needs for the future of the program with this group," Van Horn said. "We worked hard and went after some talented high school seniors, so I'm excited about the opportunity we have now to develop these young players and add them to the core of guys we have now. Having a strong group of young players will only help the longevity of our program."
Seven players of the 14-member class are listed with pitcher as their primary position, in addition to four other players with pitching capabilities. The rest of the group includes four infielders, two outfielders and a catcher. Several players, too, are multiple-position players.
The 2010-11 signee class includes Barrett Astin (Forrest City, Ark.), Dominic Ficociello (Fullerton, Calif.), Bronson Gillam (Bossier City, La.), Jeff Harvill (Keithville, La.), Jared Lakind (Cypress, Texas), Brandon Moore (Van Buren, Ark.), Justin O'Conner (Muncie, Ind.), Houston Pruitt (Springdale, Ark.), Jacob Rice (Tulsa, Okla.), Nolan Sanburn (Kokomo, Ind.), Ryne Stanek (Overland Park, Kan.), Colby Suggs (Sulphur Springs, Texas), Pierce Trumper (Ft. Collins, Colo.) and Jake Wise (Houston, Texas)
The 2010 version of the Razorback baseball team will open its season with a Feb. 19-21 series against Ball State at Baum Stadium. Arkansas' first seven games will be played in Fayetteville. For more information and continued coverage, please visit ArkansasRazorbacks.com.