comscore script

Arkansas’ Norm DeBriyn Selected for ABCA Hall

Arkansas’ Norm DeBriyn Selected for ABCA Hall

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Former Arkansas baseball head coach Norm DeBriyn will be one of seven honorees inducted into the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2003.
The list of nominees includes DeBriyn, Skip Bertman of LSU, Bob Braddy of Jackson State University (Miss.), Hank Burbridge of Spring Arbor University (Mich.), Dr. Dick Naylor of Hanover College (Ind.), John Schwartz of Oklahoma High School Baseball and Bob Warn of Indiana State University.
The Hall of Fame and Coach of the Year Banquet will be held Friday, Jan. 3, 2003, during the ABCA’s 58th annual convention at the Marriott Hotel in San Diego. This year’s class joins 197 other amateur baseball greats in the ABCA Hall of Fame.
“Norm is very deserving of this prestigious honor,” Arkansas Athletic Director Frank Broyles said. “No one I’ve known is more dedicated to college baseball than he is. He was instrumental in developing college baseball into what it is today. He is the foundation of the great baseball program that we have. I know Razorback fans everywhere join me in congratulating him on his induction into the hall of fame.”
Following a 33-year career, all as the Razorbacks’ head coach, DeBriyn stepped down following the 2002 season after guiding the Razorbacks within one game of the College World Series.
DeBriyn, now a vice president with The Razorback Foundation, finished with a career record of 1,161-650-6 for a .641 winning percentage and ranks 14th all-time in career wins among NCAA Division I coaches.
“This is such a great honor,” DeBriyn said. “I never dreamed when I first began coaching that something like this would happen. This is a tribute to all the players who played here and to Coach Broyles as well for all the support he has given the program.”
A native of Ashland, Wis., DeBriyn coached 19 All-America selections, six Freshman All-Americans, 58 All-Conference selections and 48 All-Conference Tournament selections.
DeBriyn was named SEC Coach of the Year in 1999 and earned SWC Coach of the Year in 1978, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1989 and 1990. He was inducted into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and the Razorback Hall of Honor in 1991.
Over his four-decade long career, DeBriyn guided the Razorbacks to four College World Series appearances including three in a five year span in the 1980s. The Razorbacks had their best national finish is school history under DeBriyn in 1979 as they finished runner-up in the College World Series.
A graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh with a B.S. in history in 1963, DeBriyn and his wife, Caroline, have been married 31 years. They have two sons, Todd and Marty, and one daughter, Carrie Jo.

Sports Category :