comscore script

Arkansas Cross Country Set for NCAA Championships

Arkansas Cross Country Set for NCAA Championships

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. The No. 7 Razorbacks will travel to Terre Haute, Ind. for the 2007 NCAA Championships, Mon., Nov. 19. The men’s race is set to go off at 11:08 a.m. CST.

Chris Barnicle, Lane Boyer, Michael Chinchar, Shawn Forrest, Tyler Hill, Scott MacPherson, Matt Munoz, Duncan Phillips and Rio Reina are slated to travel and seven will compete on Monday.

Arkansas will be making its 38th appearance at the NCAA Cross Country Championships when the Hogs take to the course on Monday. The Hogs have captured an NCAA-record 11 national championships including three-straight in 1998-2000. Arkansas has also earned five second-place finishes, four third-place showings and four fifth-place outings.

Joining Arkansas on the NCAA Championship course will be 31 additional schools. UA is one of three SEC teams being represented in Terre Haute. Alabama and Florida will also be making the trip.

Alabama, Arizona State, BYU, California, Cal Poly, Colorado, Florida State, Georgetown, Indiana, Iona, Iowa State, Louisville, Michigan, Minnesota, NC State, Northern Arizona, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma State, Oregon, Portland, Providence, Stanford, Texas, Tulsa, UTEP, Villanova, Virginia, Williams and Mary and Wisconsin comprise the rest of the teams competing.

The University of Arkansas has won more NCAA Division I national titles than any other school in collegiate cross country history. The Hogs have earned 11 national championships including three-straight team titles from 1998-2000. Michigan State and UTEP rank second with eight. Oregon (4), Stanford (4), Villanova (4) and Wisconsin (4) round out the top six.

Arkansas’ success at the NCAA Championships hasn’t only been in the team competition. The Hogs boast three NCAA individual champions, including a back-to-back winner. Arkansas’ three individual titles rank in a tie for fifth among NCAA teams. Washington State (7), Kansas (5), Colorado (4), Oregon (4) and Wisconsin (4) rank ahead of the Razorbacks, while Indiana (3) and UTEP (3) are tied with the Hogs.

For complete details of the 2007 NCAA Championships, visit

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)