comscore script

Arkansas Picked to Win 2007 SEC Cross Country Title

Arkansas Picked to Win 2007 SEC Cross Country Title

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference released its 2007 SEC Cross Country Preseason Poll and the University of Arkansas took top honors. In a vote by the league head coaches, the Razorbacks were selected to win the 2007 title.

With 16 consecutive SEC titles, the Razorbacks continue to dominate the preseason polls as they led the voting with 99 points and nine votes to be named the SEC Champion. The Razorbacks have won 33 consecutive conference titles, dating back to 1974 when Arkansas won its first Southwest Conference title.

Head Coach John McDonnell welcomes back eight lettermen from the 2006 season. Joining his veterans will be 11 newcomers, including five true freshmen. Leading the way in 2007 will be All-Americans Kenny Cormier and Scott MacPherson.

Also receiving first-place votes was Alabama, who followed in second-place with 86 points, and Florida came in third with 82 points. Tennessee and Georgia round out the top five with 76 and 59 points, respectively.

The Razorbacks will open the season with the Arkansas Duels, Fri., Sept. 7 at Agri Park. The 2007 SEC Cross Country Championships, hosted by the University of Kentucky in Lexington, will be held October 27.

2007 SEC Cross Country Preseason Coaches’ Poll

1. Arkansas (9) 992. Alabama (2) 86

3. Florida 82 4. Tennessee 76 5. Georgia 59 6. Mississippi State447. Ole Miss 418. Kentucky 409. Auburn 3610. LSU 3011. Vanderbilt 12

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)