comscore script

Arkansas Sends 11 Individuals Events, Two Relays to NCAA’s

Arkansas Sends 11 Individuals Events, Two Relays to NCAA’s

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — The Arkansas men’s track and field team has qualified ten individuals for the 2014 NCAA Indoor Championships. Along with the individuals, the No. 2 Razorbacks will compete in two relays for a total of 13 scoring chances. The championships will be held March 14-15 in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The Razorbacks are stacked with two NCAA defending champions this season as they head into the indoor championships next week. Andrew Irwin will go for his second-straight indoor national title in pole vault, with a qualifying mark of 5.60m/18-4.5. Senior Kevin Lazas is chasing his second-straight indoor title in the heptathlon, entering the championship with 5,923 points, the second-best score in the nation.

Neil Braddy’s personal-best time of 45.96 qualified the senior for the 400-meter dash in which he enters the event ranked No. 9.

The Razorbacks will have a strong showing in the 800-meter with Patrick Rono entering the race with an eighth-best time of 1:47.96. Tomas Squella also qualified with 1:48.70, the 13th-best time in the nation.

Freshman Omar McLeod will make his NCAA Championship debut in the 60-meter hurdles with a qualifying time of 7.70, the third-best freshman time in the nation. The Razorbacks will compete in the 4×400-meter relay, after qualifying with a season-best time of 3:05.02 at the SEC Championships. Arkansas’ six available runners are Jarrion Lawson, Eric Janise, Travis Southard, Braddy, Curtis Brown and Nathanael Franks. Arkansas will also be represented in the distance medley relay, recording a sixth-best time of 9:29.37 to qualify. Cale Wallace, Braddy, Squella, Rono, Andrew Pisechko and Gabe Gonzlazes will be the available runners for the men’s DMR.

The Razorbacks are well-represented in the field events, with SEC Champion Anthony May entering the high jump (2.21m/7-3) with the 11th-best mark in the NCAA. May brought home a silver medal in triple jump, entering the NCAA Championships with a mark of 16.07m/52-8.75. Freshman Clive Pullen will compete in his first NCAA Championship, entering the meet with a 10th-best mark of 16.01m/52-6.5, the second-best freshman in the nation.

SEC Long Jump Champion Raymond Higgs will enter the event with the second-best mark of 7.99/26-2.75, along with SEC silver medalist Jarrion Lawson (7.86m/25-9.5).

ESPN3 will stream the meet live on March 14 starting at 7:55 p.m. Eastern and March 15 starting at 7:50 p.m. Eastern. A tape delay of the championship will air Saturday, March 22 starting at 6:30 p.m. Eastern on ESPNU. For more information on Razorback Track and Field, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter.

2014 NCAA Indoor Championship Entries

400-Meters 9. Neil Braddy — 45.96 800-Meter 8. Patrick Rono — 1:47.96 13. Tomas Squella — 1:48.70 60-Meter Hurdles 11. Omar McLeod — 7.70 4×400 relay 4. Lawson/Janise/Southard/Braddy — 3:05.02 Distance Medley Relay 6. Wallace/Braddy/Squella/Rono High Jump 11. Anthony May — 2.21m/7-3 Pole Vault 3. Andrew Irwin — 5.60m/18-4.5 Long Jump 2. Raymond Higgs — 7.99m/26-2.75 5. Jarrion Lawson — 7.86m/25-9.5 Triple Jump 7. Anthony May — 16.07m/52-8.75 10. Clive Pullen — 16.01m/52-6.5 Heptathlon 2. Kevin Lazas — 5,923 points

Sports Category : Track & Field (M)