comscore script

Arkansas Swimming and Diving Meet Notes- Preseason

Arkansas Swimming and Diving Meet Notes- Preseason

This WeekThe University of Arkansas swimming and diving team begins the 2009-10 season with the Red-White meet, Saturday, October 3, at 9 a.m. inside the Arkansas Natatorium.

2009-10 PreviewArkansas returns three All-Americans from last season: Jamie Marks, Leah Pierce and Yi-Ting Siow. Yi-Ting Sow became the first Razorback swimmer since Nicola Atkinson in 1992 to win an SEC title with her first place finish in the 200 breast. 11 newcomers will round out the squad.

Team Information2008-09 Dual Record10-12009 SEC Finish5th, 299 pts2009 NCAA Finish27thLetterwinners Returning/Lost21/6All-Americans Returning/Lost3/3 Jamie Marks, Leah Pierce, Yi-Ting SiowNewcomers10 Dannica Brennan, Chelsea Franklin, Courtney Hubbard, Taylor Hyrochuck, Alicia Meinz, Shannon Samluk, Haley Smith, Alyssa Tomlinson, Kelsea Vance, Kara Wilkerson

2008-09 RecapArkansas finishes the 2008-09 season with a 10-1 dual meet record, the first ever 10 win season in the program’s history. The team’s only loss came in the first dual meet of the season to then-No. 10 Tennessee. Only the 1990-91 and 1991-92 squads came close to 10 wins, each team finishing its respective season with nine wins. The College Swimming Coaches of American ranked Arkansas No. 19 at the end of the 2008-09 season. The Hogs also finished fifth at the SEC championships which is the highest finish in school history. The team also set 11 Razorback records during its historic season.

Sports Category : Swimming & Diving (W)