comscore script

Arkansas to Play Tennessee at 5 p.m. in SEC Semifinals

BY ANDRES FOCIL
Arkansas to Play Tennessee at 5 p.m. in SEC Semifinals

ATLANTA – Arkansas will play No. 4 Tennessee in a semifinal game at 5 p.m. CT (6 p.m. ET) at Alexander Memorial Coliseum on the campus of Georgia Techon Saturday. The Razorbacks and Volunteers will be the second game of the day in a revised tournament schedule that begins with the postponed quarterfinal game between Kentucky and Georgia at 11 a.m. CT. Following the Arkansas-Tennessee game, Mississippi State will play the Kentucky/Georgia game winner at approximately 7:30 p.m. CT.

This format is based on an agreement between athletic directors and head coaches of the participating institutions after consultation with Tom O’Connor, chair of the Division I Men’s Basketball Committee. O’Connor reaffirmed that since the league decides it automatic qualifier to the NCAA Tournament by its conference tournament champion, the competition must be completed prior to the announcement of the NCAA championship field.

Because of damage to the Georgia Dome caused by severe storms in Atlanta on Friday night, the remaining games of the SEC Basketball Tournament were moved to Alexander Memorial Coliseum. Raycom Sports will televise the Kentucky vs. Georgia game as well as both semifinal games. ESPN2 will now air the championship game at 2:30 p.m. CT (3:30 p.m. ET). CBS will also air the championship game in the home market of the team teams in the final.

Out of respect for public safety demands that are required in the aftermath of Friday’s storms, access to the remaining games of the championship will be limited to student-athletes’ family members, cheerleaders, bands and other credentialed individuals.

The Southeastern Conference announced that the remaining schedule of the 2008 SEC Basketball Tournament is as follows:

Saturday, March 15Game 8 – Georgia vs. Kentucky – 11 a.m. CT (12 p.m. ET) – Raycom SportsGame 9 – Tennessee vs. Arkansas – 5 p.m. CT (6 p.m. ET) – Raycom SportsGame 10 – Mississippi State vs. Winner of Game 8 – 7:30 p.m. CT (8:30 p.m. ET) – Raycom Sports

Sunday, March 16Game 11 – Championship Game (Winner Game 9 vs. Winner Game 10 – 2:30 p.m. CT (3:30 p.m. ET) – ESPN2



Sports Category : Basketball (M)