comscore script

Athletics begins inspiration awards

Athletics begins inspiration awards

FAYETTEVILLE — The University of Arkansas Athletics Department will honor those who inspire others with a new program called Razorback Inspiring Individuals.

The award program honors two Arkansas residents who have made a difference in the lives of girls and women in sport. The awards will be announced in connection with the National Girls and Women in Sport Day celebration in February.

This year, a committee made up of members of the University of Arkansas Athletic Department as well as local community members, will select two award winners, the Courage Award and the Spirit Award.

The Courage Award will be presented to a person who has overcome tremendous obstacles to make a comeback in life and sports. This person demonstrates the ability to redefine barriers despite physical or mental challenges through their participation in sports.

The Spirit Award will be awarded to the person who personifies the “true spirit” of sport not as a participant but as a supporter, promoter or advocate of girls’ and women’s sports and fitness.

NGWSD began in 1987 as a day to celebrate and remember Olympic volleyball player Flo Hyman for both her athletic accomplishments as well as her tireless work to assure equality for women in sports. NGWSD has evolved into an annual event with celebrations across the country.

All nominees for both awards must be 18 years or older and live in the state of Arkansas. Nominations are due Dec. 31. For more information or to nominate someone, log on to or contact Tonya Leszczak in the Razorback Marketing Office at 479-474-3517.

Download: Inspiring Individuals Spirit Award.pdf

Sports Category :