comscore script

Baseball radio adds Latin flare

BY ANDRES FOCIL
Baseball radio adds Latin flare

FAYETTEVILLE – For the third consecutive season select University of Arkansas baseball games are to be broadcast in Spanish by the Razorback Baseball Network by ISP beginning with this Saturday’s game between No. 9 Arkansas and Mississippi State at Baum Stadium.

KHGG, 1580 AM, in Fort Smith, Ark., is slated to carry 12 games between Saturday and the end of the 2009 season while KYNG, 1590 AM, in Fayetteville is set for a 10 game schedule beginning Tuesday, April 7 against Arizona State.

“We are thrilled to be continuing these broadcasts in Spanish and will try to expand our reach to the growing Hispanic population throughout the State,” General Manager of Razorback Sports Properties Ryan Gribble said. “We have a diverse fan base and we want to provide as many opportunities as possible to enjoy their Razorbacks.”

Carlos Chicas and Jose Lopez bring the action to the listeners as they enter their third seasons with the Razorback baseball team. Chicas provides play-by-play while Lopez adds color commentary to the broadcast which is one of just a handful of Hispanic broadcasts for college baseball in the country.

The Razorbacks continue their season on Friday evening when Mississippi State comes to Fayetteville for a three-game series. For more information regarding Razorback baseball or University of Arkansas athletics please visit ArkansasRazorbacks.com.

Hispanic Radio Schedule for Arkansas Baseball

Date Opponent Air Time
Sat., March 28 Mississippi State 1:50 p.m.
Sun., March 29 Mississippi State 12:50 p.m.
Tues., Apr. 7 Arizona State 6:20 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 11 Vanderbilt 2:50 p.m.
Sun., Apr. 12 Vanderbilt 12:50 p.m.
Wed., Apr. 15 La.-Monroe 2:50 p.m.
Tues., Apr. 28 Oklahoma 6:20 p.m.
Fri., May 1 LSU 6:20 p.m.
Sat., May 2 LSU 1:50 p.m.
Sun., May 3 LSU 12:50 p.m.
Fri., May 15 Ole Miss 6:20 p.m.
Sat., May 16 Ole Miss 1:50 p.m.


Sports Category : Baseball