comscore script

Breeding Named To NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Breeding Named To NFF Hampshire Honor Society

FAYETTEVILLE — Former Razorback Dylan Breeding was included among the members of the 2013 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, it was announced Thursday. Breeding is the third Razorback named to the society in its seven-year existence.

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame manages the program, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 703 players from 259 schools qualified for membership in the society’s seventh year, marking the highest school participation in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Breeding, who lettered at punter for Arkansas from 2009-12, graduated in December with a 3.80 GPA and a degree in marketing management while enrolled in the Walton College of Business Honor’s Program. Breeding was named a first-team Academic All-American in 2012, a semifinalist for the 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Award and the William V. Campbell Trophy and was a three-time Academic All-SEC selection in his career. On the field, Breeding appeared in 50 games and punted 219 times for 9,387 yards. He closed his career ranking third on UA’s all-time career punts and punt yards list, and his 42.9 yards-per-punt average ranked fourth in school history. Last season, he earned his second straight All-SEC recognition after ranking second in the SEC and sixth in the NCAA in punting average with a career-best mark of 45.6 that ranks third on Arkansas’ single-season list.

Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. He currently serves the organization as a chairman emeritus. Each player awarded with membership in this year’s Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society are being a starter or a significant substitute in one’s last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA university, achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

The Hampshire Honor Society represents a powerful component in the organization’s rich history as an innovator in promoting the scholar-athlete ideal. Launched in 1959 with a donation from Hall of Fame coach Earl "Red" Blaik, the NFF’s National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, became the first initiative in history to grant postgraduate scholarships based on a player’s combined academic success, football performance and community leadership. Since its inception, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program has awarded $10.1 million to 771 top scholars and community leaders.

Currently, the NFF distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program to 16 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Additionally, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, is given to one member of each year’s class as the absolute best. The winner of the Campbell Trophy receives a total scholarship of $25,000 and a 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy. Through its chapter network, the NFF also awards an additional $1 million to local high school student-athletes, bringing the NFF’s annual scholarship distribution total to more than $1.3 million.

For more information on Arkansas football, follow @RazorbackFB on Twitter.

Sports Category : Football