comscore script

Caveness selected to HOF

Caveness selected to HOF

FAYETTEVILLE – Former University of Arkansas standout Ronnie Caveness was selected from the national ballot of 77 candidates and a pool of hundreds of eligible nominees for the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Football Subdivision Class, which was announced Thursday by Archie Manning, Chairman of The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. The class includes the names of 12 First Team All-America players and two legendary coaches.

"We are extremely proud that Ronnie Caveness has been selected for enshrinement in the College Hall of Fame," Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. "During his Razorback career, Ronnie established himself as one of the nation’s best players on offense and defense. Ronnie was an All-American and an All-Southwest Conference performer and as a senior captain he helped the Razorbacks to a perfect 11-0 record and the 1964 national championship. Ronnie Caveness is truly a Razorback football legend. We are looking forward to celebrating this tremendous honor with Ronnie and his wife Teresa in the days and months to come."

Joining Caveness in the class, which was announced at the NASDAQ MarketSite in the heart of Times Square, were the following players and coaches: Dennis Byrd – DT, North Carolina State (1964-67); Ray Childress – DL, Texas A&M (1981-84); Randy Cross – OG, UCLA (1973-75); Sam Cunningham – RB, Southern California (1970-72); Mark Herrmann – QB, Purdue (1977-80); Clarkston Hines – WR, Duke (1986-89); Desmond Howard – WR, Michigan (1989-91); Chet Moeller – DB, Navy (1973-75), Jerry Stovall – HB, LSU (1960-62), Pat Tillman – LB, Arizona State (1994-97); Alfred Williams – LB, Colorado (1987-90); Barry Alvarez – 118-73-4 (.615) – Wisconsin (1990-2005); Gene Stallings – 89-70-1 (.559) – Texas A&M (1965-71), Alabama (1990-96).The 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Class will be inducted at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7, 2010, at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined in 2011.

Caveness was a first-team All-America selection by the Football News in 1963. He was named a first-team All-American by multiple outlets in 1964 including the American Football Coaches Association, the Associated Press, the Football Writers Association of America and The Sporting News. One of the last Arkansas players to start on both sides of the ball, Ronnie Caveness dominated the opposition to lead the Razorbacks to the 1964 National Championship.

Named a First Team All-Southwest Conference selection at both center and linebacker during his senior campaign, Caveness helped Arkansas to the 1964 conference championship on a team that was coached by Hall of Famer Frank Broyles and included modern day football luminaries Jerry Jones and Jimmy Johnson. Caveness holds the Razorbacks record for most tackles made in consecutive seasons (309). Forty-five years later, he also still holds the top two spots on the school’s rankings for most tackles in a game (29 and 25, respectively). The team captain was Arkansas’ leading tackler in 21-straight games.

Drafted by the Kansas City Chiefs in 1965, Caveness spent one year with the franchise before spending the remainder of his five-year professional career with the Oilers and Patriots. Following his playing days, he became a sales manager and also served as president of the Little Rock Razorback Club.

Caveness has been named to the Arkansas All-Century Team, the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and the Cotton Bowl Classic All-Decade Team for the 1960s. He and his wife Teresa have two children and reside in Little Rock, Ark.

Caveness joins 16 other Razorback coaches or players who are currently in the Hall of Fame as follows:

(HC) — Head Coach; (AC) — Assistant Coach; (P) — Player

1954 Hugo Bezdek (HC)
1962 Wear Schoonover (P)
1971 Clyde Scott (P)
1983 Frank Broyles (HC)
1984 Lance Alworth (P)
1987 Johnny Majors (AC)
1992 Loyd Phillips (P)
1997 Bowden Wyatt (HC)
1999 Chuck Dicus (P)
2000 Billy Ray Smith Jr. (P)
2001 Barry Switzer (AC)
2003 Doug Dickey (AC)
2003 Hayden Fry (AC)
2004 Wayne Harris (P)
2004 Tracy Rocker (AC)
2008 Lou Holtz (HC)

Sports Category : Football