comscore script

Cross country Hogs picked second in the SEC

Cross country Hogs picked second in the SEC

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Southeastern Conference released its 2008 SEC cross country coaches poll and the Arkansas Razorbacks are seated second. The University of Alabama Crimson Tide took top honors.

Arkansas currently has a 17-year reign on the league cross country title. Alabama has won one cross country title on the men’s side and that came in 1973. The last time a team other than Arkansas claimed the men’s title was 1990 when the Tennessee Volunteers earned the honor.

The Razorbacks also received first-place votes and followed in second-place with 19 points, while Auburn came in third with 31 points. Florida and Tennessee round out the top five on the men’s side with 37 and 46 points, respectively.

Seniors Scott MacPherson, Alex McClary, Andy McClary and James Strang return for their final campaigns in 2008. MacPherson is a 2006 cross country All-American, a two-time all-region performer and a two-time All-SEC honoree.

The McClary’s and Strang are competing in cross country for Arkansas for the first time in their careers. The trio had strong seasons on the track in 2007 and 2008 with Strang (10K) and Andy McClary (mile) earning All-American honors.

Arkansas returns six student-athletes from the 2007 roster that won the Razorbacks’ 34th-consecutive conference title and 30th NCAA Regional title.

At the season opener Sept. 5, the Arkansas harriers racked up a perfect score of 15 to top Missouri Southern at Agri Park. Lane Boyer was the individual race winner and he paced five of his teammates to top-10 finishes.

Arkansas men’s cross country will return to action Saturday, Sept. 20, at the Missouri Southern stampede. For more information, visit

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)