comscore script

Darren McFadden Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

Darren McFadden Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas tailback Darren McFadden is one of 50 candidates on the pre-season watch list for the Doak Walker Award it was announced by The Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum on Thursday. McFadden is one of 11 sophomores to be included on the watch list for the award given to the nation’s best running back.

“I think people had the opportunity to get a glimpse of what Darren could do last season,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “He is a special player that can do a lot of things with the help of his teammates. He is working hard to get back on the field. We are looking forward to his return.”

McFadden became only the seventh running back in Southeastern Conference history to rush for more than 1,000 yards as a freshman racking up 1,113 yards last season. The consensus freshman All-American and honorable mention All-American was also named as a first-team All-Southeastern Conference running back and the SEC Freshman of the Year in 2005.

McFadden has already earned pre-season All-America honors and has been named to the watch lists for two other national awards, The Maxwell Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year award.

The Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select the semifinalists on Nov. 15, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote to determine the finalists on Nov. 16. The committee will cast a second vote on Nov. 27 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2006 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN along with other NCFAA member awards on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 7. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at The Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Thursday, Feb. 15, 2007.

Former USC running back Reggie Bush, first-round draft pick of the New Orleans Saints, won the 2005 Doak Walker Award.

The award, in its 17th year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

2006 Doak Walker Award Watch List

Josh Allen (Sr.), Maryland

Micah Andrews (Jr.), Wake Forest

Toney Baker (So.), NC State

Lance Ball (Jr.), Maryland

Adam Ballard (Jr.), Navy

Kyle Bell (Jr.), Colorado State

Yvenson Bernard (Jr.), Oregon State

Lorenzo Booker (Sr.), Florida State

Ahmad Bradshaw (Jr.), Marshall

Aaron Brown (So.), TCU

Andre Brown (So.), NC State

Curtis Brown (Sr.), BYU

Thomas Brown (Jr.), Georgia

Michael Bush (Sr.), Louisville

Hugh Charles (Jr.), Colorado

Tashard Choice (Jr.), Georgia Tech

Kenneth Darby (Sr.), Alabama

James Davis (So.), Clemson

BenJarvis Green-Ellis (Jr.), Mississippi

Lynell Hamilton (Sr.), San Diego State

Mike Hart (Jr.), Michigan

Keegan Herring (So.), Arizona State

Stevie Hicks (Sr.), Iowa State

Kenny Irons (Sr.), Auburn

Brian Leonard (Sr.), Rutgers

Rafael Little (Jr.), Kentucky

Kregg Lumpkin (Jr.), Georgia

Marshawn Lynch (Jr.), California

Chris Markey (Jr.), UCLA

DeMyron Martin (So.), SMU

Darren McFadden (So.), Arkansas

Ronnie McGill (Sr.), North Carolina

Robert Merrill (Sr.), TCU

Tyrone Moss (Sr.), Miami (FL)

Brandon Murphy (Jr.), Miami (Ohio)

Branden Ore (Jr.), Virginia Tech

Adrian Peterson (Jr.), Oklahoma

Antonio Pittman (Jr.), Ohio State

Kory Sheets (Jr.), Purdue

Steve Slaton (So.), West Virginia

Ontario Sneed (So.), Central Michigan

Tyrell Sutton (So.), Northwestern

Jamario Thomas (Jr.), North Texas

Marcus Thomas (So.), UTEP

Pierre Thomas (Sr.), Illinois

Justin Vincent (Sr.), LSU

Darius Walker (Jr.), Notre Dame

Garrett Wolfe (Sr.), Northern Illinois

Albert Young (Jr.), Iowa

Selvin Young (Sr.), Texas

Sports Category : Football