comscore script

Dean Invited to Participate in Slam Dunk Conte

Dean Invited to Participate in Slam Dunk Conte
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Arkansas senior guard Brandon Dean has been selected to participate in the 14th Annual Slam Dunk and Three-Point Championships next week in Atlanta in conjunction with the Final Four.

The Monroe, La., native is one of eight contestants in the dunk contest. The event is scheduled for 6 p.m. (central) at the GSU Sports Arena on the campus of Georgia State University but will be aired by ESPN from 1-3 p.m. on Saturday, March 30.

Other contestants include Devin Brown of Texas-San Antonio, Michael Gholar of Mississippi State, Adam Hall of Virginia, Ryan Humphrey of Notre Dame, Frederick Jones of Oregon, Chris Richardson of UNLV and Rolan Roberts of Southern Illinois.

Dean, the MVP of the 2000 Southeastern Conference Tournament after leading the Razorbacks to the title, had his best season for the Razorbacks this year by averaging 12.2 points, 2.9 rebounds, 2.0 assists and 1.4 steals a game while shooting 48.4 percent from the floor.

For his career, he averaged 8.3 points and 2.3 rebounds, and shot 45.4 percent from the field. He finished with 1,130 career points, which ranks 21st on Arkansas’ all-time career scoring chart. He also ranks among the school’s all-time three-point shooting leaders with 149 goals made, which ranks sixth, and 431 attempts, which ranks fifth.

Dean, who has a 39-inch vertical jump, was a double-figure scorer 48 times in his career, leading the team 15 times and scoring 20 or more points eight times. He also led the team in assists 21 times and in rebounding four times.

He had career highs of 29 points at Illinois and five three-point goals against LSU this year; seven rebounds twice, against Jackson State in 1999 and Auburn this year; five steals against Florida in 2000, seven assists against Kentucky in 2001 and three blocked shots against Mississippi State this year.

The judges for the contest are Georgia State head coach Lefty Driesell, Atlanta Falcons quarterback Michael Vick and four-time heavyweight boxing champion Evander Holyfield. ESPN’s announcers are Brad Nessler, Brad Daugherty and Jimmy Dykes.

Additional contestants may or may not be added.

Sports Category :