comscore script

Fayetteville to host

Fayetteville to host

FAYETTEVILLE – The University of Arkansas is one of 16 NCAA baseball regional host sites for the NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, the NCAA announced on Sunday.

The Razorbacks, 40-18, are hosting an NCAA Regional for the fifth time. On Monday,Washington State, Kansas State and Grambling State were announced as the other teams in the Fayetteville Regional.

Arkansas is the top seed, and faces Grambling State on Friday. Washington State is the two-seed, playing third-seeded Kansas State.

Game times and TV to be announced later this week.

The Fayetteville Regional is scheduled for June 4-6 with an "if necessary" game on June 7. Tickets are on sale to the general public at the Razorback Ticket Office.

Tickets are sold in packages for the complete regional. The packages are $70 each.

Fans may order by visiting the UA Ticket Office, by calling 479-575-5151 or 800-982-4647, or by visiting The Ticket Office will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Tuesday through Thursday, and accepts Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express.

Any tickets ordered in advance may be picked up at the Ticket Office through Thursday. Beginning Friday, all ordered tickets will be at will call, which is west of Gate C at Baum Stadium.

Single-game tickets, if available, will be sold for $15 each, but they will not be available until two hours before each game at the Baum Stadium ticket windows near Gates A and B. Single-game tickets must be purchased with cash or check only.

"This is the fourth regional Arkansas has hosted since I’ve been here, so I’m excited for our program and players," head coach Dave Van Horn says. "I’m also excited for our fans to be able to support us for another weekend at Baum Stadium. The environment we have at home is one of the best in the country. Our fans are great and it’s nice to have the advantage of being in Fayetteville. We’ve had a good season and we’ve played a strong schedule, which put us in position to host the regional."

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through Saturday are as follows: Arizona State (47-8), Tempe, Ariz.; Arkansas (40-18), Fayetteville, Ark.; Auburn (40-19), Auburn, Ala.; Cal State Fullerton (40-15), Fullerton, Calif.; Coastal Carolina (51-7), Conway, S.C.; Connecticut (47-14), Storrs, Conn.; Florida (42-15), Gainesville, Fla.; Georgia Tech (45-13), Atlanta; Louisville (48-12), Louisville, Ky.; Miami (Fla.) (40-17), Coral Gables, Fla.; Oklahoma (44-15), Norman, Okla.; South Carolina (43-15), Columbia, S.C.; Texas (46-11), Austin, Texas; TCU (46-11), Fort Worth, Texas; UCLA (42-13), Los Angeles; and Virginia (47-11), Charlottesville, Va.

The regional hosted by Coastal Carolina will be played at BB&T Coastal Field in Myrtle Beach, S.C. The regional hosted by Connecticut will be played at Senator Thomas J. Dodd Memorial Stadium in Norwich, Conn.

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team field. Arkansas, Auburn, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami (Florida), Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, UCLA and Virginia have made the field as at-large selections.

Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday through Monday, June 4-7.

Texas is hosting for the 25th time, while this will be the 23rd time that Miami (Fla.) and the 20th time that Arizona State have hosted a regional. South Carolina (12th) and Georgia Tech (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Cal State Fullerton and Florida are hosting for the ninth time, while Arkansas and Oklahoma are hosting a regional for the fifth time. Auburn and Virginia are hosting for the fourth time.

Coastal Carolina and Connecticut (first time since 1977) are hosting for the third time, while Louisville, TCU and UCLA (first time since 1986) are all hosting for the second time.Arkansas also hosted in 1999, 2004, 2006 and 2007.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on on Monday, June 7, at approximately 10 p.m. (CT).There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 64th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 19, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb

OTHER REGIONAL SITE SELECTION INFORMATIONSoutheastern 4 (Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, South Carolina)Atlantic Coast 3 [Georgia Tech, Miami (Florida), Virginia]Big East 2 (Connecticut, Louisville)Big 12 2 (Oklahoma, Texas)Pacific-10 2 (Arizona State, UCLA)Big South 1 (Coastal Carolina)Big West 1(Cal State Fullerton)Mountain West 1 (TCU)

Sports Category : Baseball