comscore script

Five Razorbacks Earn All-SEC Honors; Talley, H

Five Razorbacks Earn All-SEC Honors; Talley, H

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Senior tailback Fred Talley, junior free safety Ken Hamlin and sophomore offensive tackle Shawn Andrews head a list of five Razorbacks recognized on the Southeastern Conference Coaches’ All-SEC teams released by the league office on Monday.
Talley, Hamlin and Andrews earned first-team honors while junior outside linebacker Tony Bua and sophomore cornerback Ahmad “Batman” Carroll garnered second-team recognition.
“I’m really proud of our All-SEC guys and what they have accomplished this season,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “When you talk about being recognized as one of the best at your respective position in the SEC, that is quite an honor. I know they would be the first to credit their teammates for helping them achieve this individual recognition. Being selected by league coaches to the All-SEC team, is a credit not only to those five players, but also to our entire squad and our program.”
Talley leads the Razorbacks in rushing this season with 1,086 yards and two touchdowns on 183 carries. The Longview, Texas, native posted four 100-yard rushing games this season and became the first Razorback to rush for more than 1,000 yards since Madre Hill earned a school record 1,387 yards in 1995. This year’s honor marks the second for Talley after garnering second-team All-SEC accolades last season.
Hamlin became the all-time UA career tackle leader last weekend when he posted 13 tackles against Georgia in the 2002 SEC Championship Game. Hamlin has recorded 372 career tackles breaking the old record held by Cliff Powell (367). The Memphis, Tenn., product has recorded his third-straight 100+ tackle season in 2002 with 150 stops. Hamlin is making his first appearance on the league coaches’ All-SEC list after earning first-team league honors from The Associated Press last season.
Andrews added first-team All-SEC honors to his growing resume. The Camden, Ark., offensive tackle has already been named to the American Football Coaches’ Association (AFCA) and the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) All-America teams. Andrews has anchored an offensive front that has paved the way for the Razorbacks to rank 11th in the nation in rushing offense with an average of 229.6 yards per game. The sophomore was also recognized on Monday as the recipient of the Jacobs Award, given annually by league coaches to the most outstanding blocker in the SEC.
Bua earned second-team All-SEC recognition for the second time in as many campaigns. The junior outside linebacker has racked up 124 tackles this season including nine tackles for loss (-50).
Carroll is making his first appearance on the coaches’ All-SEC listing after earning freshman All-SEC recognition in 2001. Carroll has earned 57 tackles and four pass deflections in his time at cornerback for the Razorbacks this season.
Arkansas players have now garnered 14 first team and 21 second-team All-SEC awards from league coaches since the Razorbacks joined the league in time for the 1992 season. For only the third time, Arkansas earned as many as three first-team selections on the coaches’ squad. Madre Hill, Steven Conley and Mark Smith tallied first-team accolades in 1995 while Brandon Burlsworth, Melvin Bradley and Zac Painter made the list in 1998. In each of those three seasons, Arkansas won at least a share of the SEC Western Division crown.

* Tie for position

Pos., Name, School, Ht., Wt., Class, Hometown
TE, Jason Witten Tennessee 6-5 265 Jr. Elizabethton, Tenn.
OL, Shawn Andrews, Arkansas, 6-5, 330, So., Camden, Ark.
OL, Jon Stinchcomb, Georgia, 6-6, 297, Sr., Lilburn, Ga.
OL, Antonio Hall, Kentucky, 6-5, 299, Jr., Canton, Ohio
*OL, Stephen Peterman, LSU, 6-4, 325, Jr., Waveland, Miss.
*OL, Marico Portis, Alabama, 6-3, 312, Sr., Prichard, Ala.
*OL, Wesley Britt, Alabama, 6-8, 312, So., Cullman, Ala.
C, Ben Nowland, Auburn, 6-3, 294, Sr., Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
WR, Taylor Jacobs, Florida, 6-0, 200, Sr., Monticello, Fla.
WR, Terrence Edwards, Georgia, 6-0, 171, Sr., Tennille, Ga.
QB, David Greene, Georgia, 6-3, 227, So., Snellville, Ga.
RB, Artose Pinner, Kentucky, 5-11, 219, Sr., Hopkinsville, Ky.
RB, Fred Talley Arkansas 5-9 188 Sr. Longview, Texas

Pos., Name, School, Ht., Wt., Class, Hometown
TE, Aaron Walker, Florida, 6-6, 261, Sr., Mims, Fla.
OL, Kevin Breedlove, Georgia, 6-2, 300, Sr., Clemson, S.C.
OL, Shannon Snell, Florida, 6-5, 312, Jr., Tampa, Fla.
OL, Justin Smiley, Alabama, 6-4, 296, So., Ellabell, Ga.
OL, Will Ofenheusle, Tennessee, 6-8, 305, Sr., Martin, Tenn.
C, Ben Claxton, Ole Miss, 6-3, 302, Sr., Dublin, Ga.
WR, Michael Clayton, LSU, 6-4, 192, So., Baton Rouge, La.
WR, Dan Stricker, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 201, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio
*QB, Rex Grossman, Florida, 6-1, 215, Jr., Bloomington, Ind.
*QB, Jared Lorenzen, Kentucky, 6-4, 275, Jr., Ft. Thomas, Ky.
RB, Musa Smith, Georgia, 6-2, 226, Jr., Elliottsburg, Pa.
*RB, Domanick Davis, LSU, 5-10, 215, Sr., Breaux Bridge, La.
*RB, Ronnie Brown, Auburn, 6-1, 217, So., Cartersville, Ga.

Pos., Name, School, Ht., Wt., Class, Hometown
DL, David Pollack, Georgia, 6-3, 264, So., Snellville, Ga.
DL, Kindal Moorehead, Alabama, 6-4, 305, Sr., Memphis,Tenn.
DL, Kenny King, Alabama, 6-5, 277, Sr., Daphne, Ala.
OLB, Boss Bailey, Georgia, 6-3, 229, Sr., Folkston, Ga.
OLB, Karlos Dansby, Auburn, 6-5, 221, Jr., Birmingham, Ala.
ILB, Bradie James, LSU, 6-3, 248, Sr., West, Monroe, La.
*ILB, Eddie Strong, Ole, Miss, 6-4, 245, Sr., Batesville, Miss.
*ILB, Hunter Hillenmeyer, Vanderbilt, 6-4, 241, Sr., Nashville, Tenn.
DB, Ken Hamlin, Arkansas, 6-2, 205, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.
DB, Corey Webster, LSU, 6-0, 197, Jr., Vacherie, La.
*DB, Travaris Robinson, Auburn, 5-10, 193, Sr., Miami, Fla.
*DB, Matt Grier, Ole, Miss, 6-1, 190, Sr., Smithville, Miss.
*DB, Julian Battle, Tennessee, 6-3, 205, Sr., Royal, Palm, Beach, Fla.
*DB, Rashad Baker, Tennessee, 5-11, 185, Jr., Camden, N.J.

Pos., Name, School, Ht., Wt., Class, Hometown
DL, Jarret Johnson, Alabama, 6-4, 287, Sr., Chiefland, Fla.
DL, Johnathan Sullivan, Georgia, 6-3, 299, Jr., Griffin, Ga.
*DL, Langston Moore, South, Carolina, 6-2, 290, Sr., Charleston, S.C.
*DL, Dewayne Robertson, Kentucky, 6-3, 311, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.
OLB, Tony Bua, Arkansas, 5-11, 218, Jr., River, Ridge, La.
OLB, Eddie Moore, Tennessee, 6-0, 220, Sr., South, Pittsburg, Tenn.
ILB, Mark Brown, Auburn, 6-2, 240, Sr., Germantown, Tenn.
*ILB, Tony Gilbert, Georgia, 6-1, 244, Sr., Macon, Ga.
*ILB, Mario Haggan, Mississippi, State, 6-3, 253, Sr., Clarksdale, Miss.
DB, Todd Johnson, Florida, 6-1, 201, Sr., Sarasota, Fla.
DB, Keiwan Ratliff, Florida, 5-11, 182, Jr., Columbus, Ohio
DB, Kentrell Curry, Georgia, 6-2, 198, Jr., Toccoa, Ga.
*DB, Ahmad Carroll, Arkansas, 5-11, 190, So., Atlanta, Ga.
*DB, Gerald Dixon, Alabama, 5-10, 192, Sr., Burtonsville, Md.
*DB, Guss Scott, Florida, 5-10, 200, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Pos., Name, School, Ht., Wt., Class, Hometown
P, Glenn Pakulak, Kentucky, 6-3, 223, Sr., Lapeer, Mich.
PK, Billy Bennett, Georgia, 5-8, 168, Jr., Athens, Ga.
RS, Derek Abney, Kentucky, 5-10, 175, Jr., Mosinee, Wisc.

Pos., Name, School, Ht., Wt., Class, Hometown
P, Donnie Jones, LSU, 6-3, 217, Jr., Baton Rouge, La.
PK, John Corbello, LSU, 5-11, 225, Sr., Lafayette, La.
RS, Domanick Davis, LSU, 5-10, 215, Sr., Breaux Bridge, La.

SEC COACH OF THE YEAR – Mark Richt, Georgia
SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR – David Pollack, DE, Georgia
JACOBS BLOCKING TROPHY – Shawn Andrews, OT, Arkansas

Sports Category :