comscore script

Former Razorbacks Inducted into Arkansas Track

Former Razorbacks Inducted into Arkansas Track

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Former Arkansas Track and Field standouts Ralph Brodie, Jim Brown, Frank O’Mara and Randy Taylor were announced as inductees into the Arkansas Track and Field Hall of Fame. They will be honored on June 7 at the Hilton Inn in North Little Rock, Ark.
“Those guys had great careers at Arkansas,” Arkansas head coach John McDonnell said. “They helped establish a standard of excellence within our program.”
Brodie set the freshman record for high hurdles (14.7) during his career at Arkansas. He also had the best overall time set in 1961 and 1963 (14.1), twice equaling Clyde Scott’s 1948 second place Olympic time of 14.1. In 1963 he finished third at the Southwest Conference meet with a best time of 14.1.
While at Arkansas Brown set school records in the two-mile run, four-mile run, two-mile relay and distance medley relay. In cross country he won SWC individual and team championships. Brown set a new SWC record in the two-mile run with a time of 9:24.00 and at the 1951 NCAA Championships he finished fourth in the event with a time of 9:09.00.
In 1983 O’Mara won the NCAA 1,500-meter title and was only the third Razorback at the time to win an individual national championship. His time of 3:37.71 is the sixth fastest in UA school history. He was also a three-time All-American. O’Mara went on to be a two-time 3,000-meter world champion in 1989 and 1991 and a three-time Olympian.
Taylor was a member of the 1966 SWC championship cross country team with a top-seven All-SWC finish. For the past 17 years he has continued to compete in road races and masters track and field meets.
Three other athletes and coaches, including Mike Hoffman, Rip Powell and Glen Rice will also be inducted into the hall of fame.

Sports Category :