comscore script

Former linemen to serve as honorary captains

Former linemen to serve as honorary captains

FAYETTEVILLE – The University of Arkansas is proud to announce former Razorback offensive linemen Leotis Harris, Greg Koch, Richard LaFargue, Gerald Skinner and R.C. Thielemann as the A Club honorary captains for the Arkansas-Auburn football game on Oct. 8.

The offensive line group played together under coach Frank Broyles from 1974-75. In their two seasons as an offensive line unit, the Razorbacks went 16-6.

This linemen group paved the way for a potent and balanced rushing attack in the 1975 season, when the Razorbacks averaged a school record 320.3 rushing yards a game. In 1975 Arkansas went 10-1 and defeated Georgia in the 1976 Cotton Bowl. All five of these linemen were members of the All-Southwest Conference team at one point in their career. Koch, LaFargue, Skinner, and Thielemann earned all-conference honors in 1975, while Harris was all-conference in 1977. In addition to Harris’ all-conference season, he was also named a first-team All-American following the 1977 season. Harris and Thielemann were inducted into the Arkansas Hall of Honor in 2005.

All five players were selected in the NFL Draft. LaFargue was selected in the eighth round of the 1976 NFL Draft by the Philadelphia Eagles. The following year, Thielemann, Koch, and Skinner were also selected. Thielemann and Koch were both taken in the second round, while Skinner was selected in the fourth round. In 1978, Harris was taken in the sixth round by the Green Bay Packers.

Named three times to the Pro Bowl, Thielemann played for the Atlanta Falcons and the Washington Redskins. Koch, who was drafted by the Green Bay Packers and played 11 seasons with the team, was named to the Green Bay Packers Hall Of Fame in 2010. After his time with the Packers, Koch finished his career with the Miami Dolphins and the Minnesota Vikings. Skinner was drafted by the New England Patriots and played the 1978 season for the Packers. Harris played his entire six-year career with the Packers.

The A Club honorary captain is recognized before each home game for their outstanding accomplishments on the field during their Razorback career. Each captain will be available for a brief autograph session at the AT&T Fan Zone at The Gardens prior to each game. Before kickoff, they will be recognized and will accompany the captains to midfield for the coin toss.

Sports Category : Football