comscore script

Fourteen Track Athletes Named to SEC Spring Ac

Fourteen Track Athletes Named to SEC Spring Ac

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – A total of 14 track athletes were named to the 2005 Southeastern Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll, announced Thursday by Commissioner Mike Slive. The 2005 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2004 Summer, 2004 Fall and 2005 Spring semesters and honorees must have a 3.0 GPA, be a sophomore or higher in academic classification and have 24 semester hours towards a degree.
UA’ total has the Hogs ranked third in the league and in addition to excelling in the classroom, six of the Razorbacks are busy representing Arkansas at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Sacramento, Calif., and have put together an outstanding year.
Junior Eric Brown has been the top collegiate finisher in five of the six meets he has competed in and captured the NCAA Mideast Regional title. Junior Jose Campos earned All-SEC honors when he finished fifth in the steeplechase and picked up an automatic bid to nationals when he posted the same finish at regionals.
Sophomore Adam Perkins has stepped up in the 1,500 meters and recorded a win at the regional meet. He also picked up his first All-American honor during the indoor season when he came in sixth in the 3,000 meters. Senior Jason Sandfort is a seven-time All-American and will be running in his final race as a Razorback when he takes to the track in the 10,000 meters on Friday night at the NCAA Championships.
Senior Jaanus Uudmae has reigned over the conference in the triple jump and claimed both indoor and outdoor titles, becoming the first UA athlete since nine-time NCAA champion Robert Howard in 1997 to accomplish that feat. Uudmae is also a two-time All-American in the event.

Luis Bordes JR Management
Eric Brown SO Management
Jose Campos JR Sociology
Brad Dittoe JR Art
Eric Gross JR Geology
Tyler Hill SO Biology
Creighton Kiper SO Math
Jonathan Norris SO Finance
Cory Oldham SR Kinesiology
Adam Perkins SO Finance
Jason Sandfort SR Finance
Robbie Stevens SR Finance
Jaanus Uudame SR Computer Science
David Wittenmyer JR Communications

Sports Category :