comscore script

Hall of Fame class includes former Razorbacks

Hall of Fame class includes former Razorbacks

FAYETTEVILLE – As part of its seven-member class for 2012, the Arkansas Track and Field Hall of Fame will induct five former standouts for the University of Arkansas track and field programs next week. The list of former Razorbacks being honored includes DeeDee Brown-Campbell (2000-02), Carlton Efurd (1983-86), Daniel Lincoln (2001-03), Jeff Pascoe (1984-87) and Gary Taylor (1982-85).

Brown-Campbell, a multiple-time state champion during her prep career at Little Rock Hall High School, was a two-time All-America performer for Arkansas in the heptathlon. She was also a three-time SEC champion with titles in the heptathlon in 2000, pentathlon in 2002 and with the distance-medley relay in 2000. Brown-Campell still owns the school record in the pentathlon. She is currently the Director of Student-Athlete Services at Baylor.

Efurd began his career as a prep star at Greenwood High School where he won a handful of state titles and was the mile champion at the 1981 Meet of Champions. During his career at Arkansas, he was an All-SWC performer in 1984 and was part of two SWC Triple Crown teams. Following his time in Fayetteville, Efurd became the cross country and track and field head coach at Rogers High School where he has won 22 state titles.

Lincoln was a cross country and track and field high school state champion at the Arkansas School for Math and Science before joining the Razorbacks. At Arkansas, he was a 14-time All-American and four-time NCAA champion in the steeplechase (2001-03) and 10,000 meters (2003). Following his collegiate career, he started a successful professional career in which he represented the United States at the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens and set the American record in the steeplechase.

Pascoe, an all-state pole vaulter at Conway High School, was a four-year letterwinner for the Razorbacks. In 1986, he became the first in school history to win an NCAA title in the pole vault. During that same season, he was also the Penn Relays champion. Pascoe was a member of the 1985 NCAA Triple Crown team, two SWC Triple Crown teams (1984,1985) and five NCAA Championship teams. He continued his ties with the Razorbacks as a graduate assistant on the coaching staff in 1988-89.

Taylor joined the Razorbacks in 1982 after a prep career in London. The middle-distance standout was a two-time All-America selection and four-time SWC champion for Arkansas. Taylor also captained two cross country teams, one of which won an NCAA Championship title. In the program’s record book, he still ranks fifth all-time at 1,000 meters and is part of four distance-medley teams still ranked in the top 10. Taylor owns a store dedicated to running in Central Arkansas.

In addition to the former Razorbacks, the 2012 inductee class of seven is set to include Bruce Hamlin of Southern State College (Southern Arkansas University) and David G. Teague of Hendrix College.

The 18th Annual Arkansas Track and Field Hall of Fame ceremony will be held Saturday, June 9, at 6:30 p.m. at the Wyndham Riverfront in North Little Rock, Ark. Banquet tickets are $40 each and may be ordered by check payable to ATFHF sent to Charles Tadlock, PO Box 211, Sheridan, AR 72150. The deadline to order tickets is June 4.

For more information regarding Razorback track and field or University of Arkansas athletics, please visit

Sports Category :