comscore script

Hamilton Named Biletnikoff Semifinalist

Hamilton Named Biletnikoff Semifinalist

FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas senior wide receiver Cobi Hamilton is one of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, it was announced Monday.

Hamilton has already broken the Arkansas single-season records for receptions and receiving yards. His 73 catches this year broke the previous record of 66 set by Jarius Wright in 2011, and Hamilton’s 1,149 receiving yards broke Wright’s record of 1,117 from last season. Hamilton’s receiving yards total also ranks as the 14th-highest single-season output in SEC history. He has four 100-yard receiving games this season, which is tied for third on UA’s single-season list and one behind the record.

Hamilton leads the SEC and ranks fifth in the NCAA with his average of 114.9 receiving yards per game this season, and his average of 7.3 catches per game leads the SEC and is tied for 10th in the NCAA. Against FBS competition only, Hamilton is averaging 126.2 yards per game, topping the conference and ranking third in the country. The Texarkana, Texas, native is the only player from the SEC and one of four in the NCAA with at least four games of 10 or more catches in 2012 and the only Razorback in school history with more than two 10-plus catch games in a career. He has caught at least one pass in 32 straight games, the longest active streak in the SEC and tied for the 11th-longest active streak in the nation.

Earlier this season, Hamilton broke the SEC single-game receiving yards record with 303 yards on 10 catches against Rutgers. His receiving yards also are tied for the 16th-highest single-game total in NCAA history, and his average of 30.3 yards per catch broke the SEC record for a game with at least 10 receptions. His 303 all-purpose yards against Rutgers are the most in the SEC this season and tied for the 13th-highest single-game output in the country in 2012.

Hamilton ranks third on UA’s career lists for receiving yards with 2,668 and catches with 158. His career average of 16.9 yards per catch is the fourth-highest among active NCAA players, and his receiving yards total ranks second among active SEC players and ninth in the country among active players. He also ranks fourth in school history with eight career 100-yard receiving games and is tied for fourth on UA’s all-time career touchdown receptions list with 17.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of more than 180 prominent football journalists, commentators and receivers. The 2012 winner will be presented live on Dec. 6 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast on ESPN.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the three finalists on Nov. 19. The Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy before 600 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee, Fla., on Saturday, Feb. 9, 2013.

The Biletnikoff Award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame. Biletnikoff was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-American receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965-78 and was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

To keep up with Hamilton and the rest of the Arkansas football postseason awards campaign, follow @ARKTD2012 on Twitter.

Sports Category : Football