comscore script

Harter named to Arkansas Track Hall of Fame

Harter named to Arkansas Track Hall of Fame

FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas head women’s track coach Lance Harter has been chosen as one of the 2006 inductees to the Arkansas Track & Field Hall of Fame he was informed on Wednesday afternoon. Harter is to be inducted into the Hall of Fame in a ceremony on June 2, in Little Rock, Arkansas along with several others including one of his former athletes, distance star Megan Flowers.

“Any time you are honored by any organization it is a reflection on the entire program,” Harter said. “I accept this award on behalf of my staff and all the athletes that made it possible. It is the success of those individuals that have allowed the University of Arkansas to successful.”

Harter and Flowers are the fourth and fifth individuals with Arkansas Lady Razorback ties to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Former Lady Razorback sprinter Wanda Harris was the first when she was elected in 2001 followed by Olympic bronze medalist Deena Drossin-Kastor in 2003 and then former cross country/track coach Ed Renfrow in 2005.

Harter came to the University in the fall of 1990 and in his 16 years as the head women’s cross country/track & field coach, he has been a part of several notable accomplishments. He won Arkansas’ first track and field conference championship during the 2000 indoor season; won the Southeastern Conference’s second ever “triple crown” during the 1999-2000 season, then followed it up with a second during 2000-01. Overall, Harter’s Lady Razorback teams have won 16 Southeastern Conference titles, taken five NCAA trophies and earned more than 100 all-America Honors.

Individually, Harter has been named SEC Coach of the Year 10 times in cross country, six more in track. Not just recognized on the conference level, Harter was name the United States Track Coaches Association’s National Coach of the Year for both the indoor and outdoor track seasons in 2000 and again during the 2001 indoor season. He is already a member of both the Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo and Mt. San Antonio College Relays Hall of Fames.

Flowers is the second Lady Razorback who competed for Harter to be elected into the hall along with Drossin-Kastor. In her three years at Arkansas, Flowers won three Southeastern Conference Championships in the 5,000 meters and earned 10 all-America honors, three in cross country.

“I think that its awesome Megan was chosen,” Harter said. “I was really excited when I saw her on the ballot. She was part of that original crew that started the success of cross country and track at Arkansas. She is certainly part of the legacy of University of Arkansas cross country and track.”

For more information about Lady Razorback track or about Arkansas women’s athletics, please go to

Sports Category : Track & Field (W)