comscore script

Hog Distance Medley Relay Grabs Title at the T

Hog Distance Medley Relay Grabs Title at the T

AUSTIN, Texas — On a gusty night at Mike A. Meyers Stadium in Austin, Texas, the University of Arkansas distance medley relay grabbed first place in 9:50.45 to highlight the action for the Hogs on the second day of the 74th annual Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays.
Frans Schimper ran a 3:02.30 1,200-meter opening leg and led until the last 100 meters before handing off to Kevin Baker. Baker gained ground and moved the Hogs into fourth place during his 47.8 400-meter leg. Dirk Heinze was next for the Hogs in the 1:50.60 800-meter leg and moved the Hogs from fourth to second and closed the gap on the University of Texas team that was leading at the time. Heinze handed off to Ryan Travis who continued to close on the Longhorns and eventually overtook them in the second lap of his 4:09.80 mile anchor leg. Travis then continued to extend the Razorbacks lead and then took off in the final lap for the first place finish.
“Our intention was to go out hard and make the fourth leg easy for me,” UA anchor leg runner Ryan Travis said. “We did not expect not to have the lead going into my leg. My strategy was to tuck behind the Texas runner (Jeff Wood) and the SMU runner (Graham Davidson) because it was so windy. I wanted to make them work because of the wind conditions and on the last leg I hit it hard and I was able to take the lead and finish strong.”
Earlier in the evening session, Chad Grundy and Alan Dunleavy finished ninth in 4:01.15 and eleventh in 4:03.44, respectively, in the 1,500-meter run.
In the sprint medley relay, the Hogs finished eighth in 3:26.37. Michael Thomas ran the opening 200-meter leg and handed off to Maurice Robinson for the second 200-meter leg. Robinson handed off to Chandun O’Neal who ran the 400-meter leg and Andy Beasley finished it out for the Hogs running the 800-meter anchor leg.
During the morning session in the 110-meter high hurdle preliminaries, Eddie Jackson won his heat to advance to the finals and ran the second fastest time in the prelims of 13.91 and Sean Lightfoot finished second in his heat in 13.99 also advancing to the finals. Jackson’s missed the provisional mark for the NCAA Championships by .01 seconds. The finals of the 110-meter high hurdles are on Saturday at 2:40 p.m.
Action at the Texas Relays concludes on Saturday.

Sports Category :