comscore script

Hogs Bounce Cats in SEC Tournament Quarterfina

BY ANDRES FOCIL
Hogs Bounce Cats in SEC Tournament Quarterfina


ATLANTA, Ga. – For the first time in seven tries, Arkansas bounced Kentucky in the conference Tournament as the Razorbacks upset the 16th ranked Wildcats in the quarterfinal round of the 2000 SEC Tournament at the Georgia Dome on Friday night.
The Hogs (17-14) jumped on the Wildcats early and never trailed on their way to their second win in as many days. Arkansas handed Kentucky (22-9) its first loss in the Georgia Dome after winning its previous 13 contests. The Hogs also recorded their first win over Kentucky in SEC Tournament play after going 0-6 previously.
Freshman Joe Johnson led the Hogs with 21 points and five rebounds. Sophomore Teddy Gipson exploded for 16 points including three of four from three-point range. Senior Chris Walker and sophomore Brandon Dean scored 12 apiece while freshman Blake Eddins hit for 10 points.
Kentucky was led by freshman Keith Bogans who tallied 25 points. Senior Jamaal Magloire earned a double-double with 16 points and 13 rebounds in the losing cause. Arkansas forced the Wildcats into a season-high 27 turnovers.
“Turnovers were the key in this one,” Arkansas head coach Nolan Richardson said. “We were able to get some turnovers and convert. We played defense as well as we have played it all season. Our guys played hard from start to finish.”
Arkansas advances to the semifinal round to play LSU on Saturday afternoon at 2:15 p.m. CT (3:15 p.m. ET). The winner will advance to Sunday’s championship game set for Noon CT (1 p.m. ET).




Sports Category :