comscore script

Hogs draw Tigers in first round of SECs

Hogs draw Tigers in first round of SECs
FAYETTEVILLE– The No. 60 University of Arkansas men’s tennis team will meet No. 39 Auburn in the first round of the Southeastern Conference Tournament Thursday. The 12-team championship features four top-10 teams and is deemed one of the toughest collegiate conference tournaments in the nation.
The Razorbacks (10-15, 1-10) look to even the score after dropping their regular season match to the Tigers (8-11, 5-6) in Auburn, Ala. earlier this month, 4-3. In the dual match, Matt Walters beat Oliver Strecker at the No. 5 singles position to earn the Hogs first team point. Next freshman, Mike Ward defeated Michel Monteiro, 6-1, 7-6(4). Arkansas’ final team point came from court one when No. 65 Christopher Nott upset No. 21 Tim Puetz in straight set, 6-3, 7-5.
The Hogs and the Tigers will take the court at 9 a.m. at the Hillary J. Boone Tennis Complex on the University of Kentucky, in Lexington, Ky on Thursday. The winner of Thursday’s first-round match will advance to face No. 10 Georgia, the tournaments No. 3 seed, in the second round.
Auburn will enter the tournament No. 6 with an upset win over No. 29 Alabama on Saturday at the University of Alabama Tennis Stadium in Tuscaloosa, Ala. The two teams were tied for the SEC west and the win declared Auburn as the higher seed. The match was squared away and the final decision came to the No. 2 singles position where Auburn No. 109 sophomore Alex Stamchev clinched the win over Ricky Doverspike in a third set.
The Hogs are led by Nott, who has totaled 17 wins this season playing at the top spot in Arkansas’ lineup. The junior leads the team with 22 doubles victories. Junior Matt Hogan ended the season on a three-game winning streak playing mostly at the No. 2 and No. 3 position.
Including Nott and Hogan, there are six Razorbacks with more than 12 wins this season. Lebedev, Lehmann, Ward and Matt Walters are the other Hogs posting 13 and 14 wins, respectively.
For complete coverage of all the SEC tournament action, visit
2010 SEC Men’s Tennis Tournament Schedule
Match 1: #11 Arkansas vs. #6 Auburn

9 a.m.
Match 2: #10 Mississippi State vs. #7 Vanderbilt
Match 3: #12 South Carolina vs. #5 Ole Miss
3 p.m.
Match 4: #9 LSU vs. #8 Alabama
6 p.m.
Match 5: Winner Match 1 vs. #3 Georgia

9 a.m.
Match 6: Winner Match 2 vs. #2 Florida
Match 7: Winner Match 3 vs. #4 Kentucky
3 p.m.
Match 8: Winner Match 4 vs. #1 Tennessee
6 p.m.
Match 9: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6
10 a.m.
Match 10: Winner Match 7 vs. Winner Match 8
1 p.m.
Match 11: Winner Match 9 vs. Winner Match 10
1 p.m.
All times local to site and subject to change.

Download: 2010 Men’s Tennis Draw.pdf

Sports Category : Tennis (M)