comscore script

Houston Nutt Selected to Coach East Squad in A

Houston Nutt Selected to Coach East Squad in A

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt will lead an all-star squad representing the East in the 81st annual East-West Shrine Game set for Jan. 21, 2006, at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. Nutt and Texas A&M head coach Dennis Franchione will serve as the head coaches of the East and West squads, respectively. The game will be televised by ESPN2 at 3 p.m. CT.
The game, recently relocated to the Lone Star State from San Francisco, Calif., has been played annually for the benefit for the 22 Shriners Hospitals for Children since 1923. The event showcases some of the top collegiate senior football players in the country while raising millions of dollars and visibility for Shriners Hospitals.
“I’m honored to be asked to be a part of this prestigious game,” Nutt said. “The East-West Shrine Game has a tradition of attracting some of the best talent in college football as well as making a difference in communities all over the nation. I’m very appreciative of the opportunity to lead the East team and contribute in a small way to the great work of the Shriners Hospitals and the other charitable causes that benefit from this event. I look forward to a great week next January.”
A total of 25 Razorbacks have participated in the East-West Shrine Game in its history. Jim Benton and Dwight Sloan were the first Arkansas players to participate appearing in the 1938 game. Jeb Huckeba is the most recent Razorback to participate after playing in the game last January. Arkansas also can boast of a former offensive and defensive most valuable player in the game’s history. Fullback Gerald Nesbitt was the offensive most valuable player in 1957. Safety Steve Atwater won defensive most valuable player honors in 1989.

Sports Category :