comscore script

Howard Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

Howard Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas sophomore tailback De’Arrius Howard has been named to the Doak Walker Award watch list, announced by the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors.
The Doak Walker Award is annually awarded to the nation’s top collegiate running back. The award is based on athletic performance as well as citizenship, community service and academic achievement. Every Division I-A running back is eligible for the award and additional players may be added to the watch list during the season. An Arkansas running back has never won the Doak Walker Award.
Howard rushed for 595 yards and seven touchdowns last season on 131 carries. He averaged 4.5 yards per carry and earned a career high 121 yards in Arkansas’ 26-19 win over Mississippi State. His seven touchdowns in 2002 were the most by a UA freshman since James Rouse set a school record (9) in 1985.
The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select eight semifinalists on Nov. 19, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote on the winner in late November. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, print and electronic media members and selected special representatives.
The recipient of the 2003 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on ESPN along with other NCFAA member awards on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11, 2003. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at The Fairmont Hotel in Dallas, Texas, on Thursday, Feb. 12, 2004.
Former Penn State running back Larry Johnson, currently with the Kansas City Chiefs, won the 2002 Doak Walker Award.

2003 Doak Walker Award Watch List
Zack Abron (Sr.), Missouri
Tatum Bell (Sr.), Oklahoma State
Cedric Benson (Jr.), Texas
Art Brown (Sr.), East Carolina
Ronnie Brown (Jr.), Auburn
Terry Caulley (So.), Connecticut
Anthony Davis (Sr.), Wisconsin
Tyler Ebell (So.), UCLA
Adimchinobe Echemandu (Sr.), California
Jermaine Green (Sr.), Washington State
Alex Haynes (Jr.), Central Florida
Taurean Henderson (So.), Texas Tech
Bobby Hendry (Sr.), Akron
Lonta Hobbs (So.), TCU
De’Arrius Howard (So.), Arkansas
Steven Jackson (Jr.), Oregon State
Terrence Jackson (Sr.), Central Michigan
Greg Jones (Sr.), FSU
Kevin Jones (Jr.), Virginia Tech
Keylon Kincade (Sr.), SMU
Derrick Knight (Sr.), Boston College
Chance Kretschmer (Jr.), Nevada
Wali Lundy (So.), Virginia
T.A. McLendon (So.), NC State
Tony Milton (Jr.), Georgia
Brandon Miree (Sr.), Pittsburgh
DonTrell Moore (So.), New Mexico
Mewelde Moore (Sr.), Tulane
Bruce Perry (Sr.), Maryland
Chris Perry (Sr.), Michigan
Bobby Purify (Sr.), Colorado
Phil Reed (Sr.), Western Michigan
Fred Russell (Sr.), Iowa
Michael Turner (Sr.), Northern Illinois
Carnell Williams (Jr.), Auburn
DeAngelo Williams (So.), Memphis
Shaud Williams (Sr.), Alabama
Quincy Wilson (Sr.), West Virginia
Jason Wright (Sr.), Northwestern

Sports Category :