comscore script

Jamaal Anderson Named to Ted Hendricks Award Watch List

Jamaal Anderson Named to Ted Hendricks Award Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas junior Jamaal Anderson has been added to the national watch list for the 2006 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award it was announced by the Ted Hendricks Foundation this week.

Anderson is one of 27 players on the final mid-season watch list that already includes Razorbacks’ sophomore defensive end Antwain Robinson. Arkansas, Florida and UCLA are the only schools with multiple players on the watch list.

“Jamaal has been outstanding for us at defensive end,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “He has been a constant in the opposing team’s backfield and has caused a lot of havoc. He has a motor that runs at a high speed. He is having a special season. We need him to continue to be a big factor for us down the stretch.”

The candidate list will be trimmed to as many as six finalists next week with the final vote coming on Dec. 4. The 2006 Hendricks Award winner will be announced on Dec. 6. Previous Hendricks Award recipients include Terrell Suggs of Arizona State (2002), David Pollack of Georgia (2003, ‘04) and Elvis Dumervil of Louisville (2005).

The Hendricks Award Watch List

Victor Abiamiri, Notre Dame, Sr., 6-4, 260

Gaines Adams, Clemson, Sr., 6-5, 265

Jamaal Anderson, Arkansas, Jr., 6-6, 280

Daniel Bazuin, Central Michigan, Sr., 6-3, 265

Tommy Blake, TCU, Jr., 6-3, 250

Mkristo Bruce, Washington State, Sr., 6-7, 249

Ian Campbell, Kansas State, So., 6-5, 232

Tim Crowder, Texas, Sr., 6-4, 270

Bruce Davis, UCLA, Sr., 6-3, 237

Keyunta Dawson, Texas Tech, SR, 6-3, 254

Victor DeGrate, Oklahoma State, Sr., 6-3, 250

Wallace Gilberry, Alabama, Jr., 6-2, 250

Quentin Groves, Auburn, Jr., 6-3, 250

Derrick Harvey, Florida, So., 6-5, 262

Justin Hickman, UCLA, Sr., 6-2, 263

Tyson Jackson, LSU, Jr., 6-5, 292

Chris Long, Virginia, Jr., 6-4, 275

Jameel McClain, Syracuse, Jr., 6-1, 252

Larry McSwain, UAB, Sr., 6-1, 255

J.J. Milan, Nevada, Sr., 6-5, 270

Jay Moore, Nebraska, Sr., 6-4, 270

Jarvis Moss, Florida, So., 6-6, 250

Antwain Robinson, Arkansas, So., 6-3, 255

Justin Rogers, SMU, Sr., 6-4, 250

Anthony Spencer, Purdue, Sr., 6-3, 250

LaMarr Woodley, Michigan, Sr., 6-2, 265

Abraham Wright, Colorado, Jr., 6-3, 245

Sports Category : Football