comscore script

Johnson Earns Trio of All-SEC Honors

Johnson Earns Trio of All-SEC Honors

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas freshman Joe Johnson picked up three honors on Tuesday afternoon as the Southeastern Conference released its Coaches’ All-SEC and SEC All-Freshman awards.
Johnson was selected as SEC Co-Freshman of the Year sharing the honor with Torris Bright of LSU. The Little Rock, Ark. native also earned a spot on the SEC All-Freshman team as the only unanimous selection to the squad.
In addition, Johnson was the only SEC freshman to gain a spot on an All-SEC squad. He was selected to the third team becoming the first Arkansas freshman since Scotty Thurman in 1993 to earn all-conference recognition.
“I don’t know of a player that came to a team in the middle of the season with no practice, no weight program, didn’t know the offense, didn’t know the defense and do what that young man has done,” Arkansas head coach Nolan Richardson said. “He leads the team in almost every category. That is just an incredible feat. Any time a freshman makes it on an All-SEC team, you know he has had an impact on the league.”
Johnson leads the Razorbacks with 15.9 points and 5.7 rebounds per game. Arkansas will play in the first round of the 2000 SEC Basketball Tournament on Thursday at 8:45 p.m. CT (9:45 p.m. ET) against the Georgia Bulldogs at the Georgia Dome.


First Team All-SEC, Pos., Ht., Wt., Cl., Hometown
Mike Miller, Florida*, F, 6-8, 218, So. Mitchell, S.D.
Jamaal Magloire, Kentucky, C, 6-10, 260, Sr., Toronto, Ontario
Stromile Swift, LSU*, F, 6-9, 225, So., Shreveport, La.
Tony Harris, Tennessee, G, 6-0, 165, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.
Dan Langhi, Vanderbilt, F, 6-11, 220, Sr., Benton, Ky.

Second Team All-SEC
Chris Porter, Auburn, F, 6-7, 218, Sr., Abbeville, Ala.
Doc Robinson, Auburn, G, 6-2, 185, Sr., Selma, Ala.
Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky, G/F, 6-9, 215, So., Compton, Calif.
Jabari Smith, LSU, C ,6-11, 250, Sr., Atlanta, Ga.
Vincent Yarbrough, Tennessee, F, 6-7, 210, So., Cleveland, Tenn.

Third Team All-SEC
Joe Johnson, Arkansas, G/F, 6-8, 225, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.
Udonis Haslem, Florida, C, 6-7, 260, So., Miami, Fla.
Anthony Evans, Georgia, F, 6-7, 265, Jr., Decatur, Ga.
Robert Jackson, Mississippi State, F/C, 6-8, 245, So., Milwaukee, Wis.
Isiah Victor, Tennessee, F, 6-9, 220, Jr., Hopkinsville, Ky.

SEC All-Freshman Team
Joe Johnson, Arkansas*
Donnell Harvey, Florida
Keith Bogans, Kentucky
Torris Bright, LSU
Chuck Eidson, South Carolina

SEC Coach of the Year
John Brady, LSU

SEC Player of the Year
Dan Langhi, Vanderbilt

SEC Co-Freshmen of the Year
Joe Johnson, Arkansas
Torris Bright, LSU

* Unanimous Selection

Sports Category :