comscore script

Kok honored as SEC Legend

Kok honored as SEC Legend

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Former University of Arkansas men’s basketball player George Kok will be honored at the 2011 Southeastern Conference Men’s Basketball Tournament as one of 12 SEC Basketball Legends it was announced by the league office in Birmingham, Ala., on Thursday.

Kok, a four-year letterman from 1945-48, was a two-time All-American for the Razorbacks and three-time First-Team All-Southwest Conference selection. He earned second team The Sporting News All-America honors in 1946 and followed that up with third-team Associated Press honors in 1948.

Kok was the first Razorback to score 1,000 points in a career in 1947 and finished his four-year stint with the Razorbacks with 1,644 points, a total that continues to rank 11th on Arkansas’ all-time charts. In 94 games, Kok averaged 17.5 points per contest, the fifth best average among the 34 1,000-point scorers and was a career 69.8 percent free throw shooter.

Perhaps what Kok is best remembered for are his 22 points that he scored against Oregon in the NCAA Tournament Western Regional Final to lead the Razorbacks to a 79-76 victory and the school’s second Final Four.

The 86-year-old Kok is one of 12 SEC Basketball Legends that will be honored at halftime of their team’s first game at the tournament, March 10-13 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga. Other SEC Legends at the 2011 SEC Tournament include: Robert Horry (Alabama), Jimmy Fribbe (Auburn), Craig Brown (Florida), Walter Daniels (Georgia), Kevin Grevey (Kentucky), Howard Carter (LSU), Bob Weltlich (Ole Miss), Darryl Wilson (Miss. State), BJ McKie (South Carolina), Jimmy England (Tennessee) and Jeff Turner (Vanderbilt).

Kok is the 13th SEC Basketball Legend for the Razorbacks since the program began in 1999. Other Razorback greats that have been honored are: Jim Counce (2010), Scotty Thurman (2009), Corliss Williamson (2008), U.S. Reed (2007), Marvin Delph (2006), Scott Hastings (2005), Todd Day (2004), Lee Mayberry (2003), Ron Brewer (2002), Joe Kleine (2001), Tommy Boyer (2000) and Sidney Moncrief (1999).

The Razorbacks play Ole Miss on Saturday afternoon in Oxford, Miss., at 3 p.m., to close out the 2010-11 regular season before heading to Atlanta for the SEC Tournament.

Sports Category : Basketball (M)