comscore script

Lady’Back golf selected to NCAA Central Region Championship

Lady’Back golf selected to NCAA Central Region Championship

Jump to selections FAYETTEVILLE — The 26th-ranked University of Arkansas women’s golf team is headed to Michigan for the NCAA Central Regional Championship. Arkansas makes its fifth consecutive regional appearance and sixth overall, and travel to Ann Arbor for the regional May 10-12. LSU is hosting the East Regional while BYU hosts the West. Regional selections are based on national rankings with the top 15 teams in the nation divided equally among the three sites. The remainder of the selections compete in their own region. "It looks like the East is going to be the toughest region to get out of," said Arkansas head coach Kelley Hester. "The West is a bit easier and the Central is right in the middle. I think it’s a good place to be." Arkansas enters the regional as the ninth seed in the Central. This year’s Central Region field, in order of selection, includes third-ranked Georgia, No. 4 Vanderbilt, No. 8 Southern California, No. 10 Tennessee, No. 16 Arizona, No. 22 Michigan State, No. 23 TCU, No. 35 Baylor, No. 26 Arkansas and No. 29 Kent State in the top 10 spots. Also competing at Michigan is No. 23 Ohio State, No. 34 Northwestern, No. 42 Michigan, No. 47 Missouri, No. 40 ASMU, No. 48 Maryland, No. 49 Indiana, No. 51 North Carolina-Wilmington, No. 87 Oral Roberts, No. 100 Southern Illinois and No. 198 St. Francis. This year’s even takes place at the University of Michigan Golf Course, an unfamiliar site for the Lady Razorbacks. "Shauna (Estes, Arkansas assistant coach) has played the course," said Hester. "All I know at this point is what I’ve read on the website. It’s a traditional, older-type golf course. The rough shouldn’t bee too tall since it’s early in their season." The Lady Razorbacks travel a young squad to the Regional Championship headlined by junior Stacy Lewis. The two-time all-American and three-time Southeastern Conference first-team selection continues to battle a back injury that saw The Woodlands, Texas, native pull out of the league championship last week. Lewis is the only traveling Lady”Back with regional experience and has played in both the 2005 and 2006 championships. Also scheduled to travel is sophomore Lucy Nunn and freshmen Kristin Ingram, Corinna Rees and Alexandrea Schulte. Nunn accompanied the team last year as an alternate but did not play. "Sometimes, an older team puts more pressure on themselves," said Hester. "Since we are in a rebuilding year, there really isn’t any pressure on us. We’re going in there with a young team and they don’t know what to expect and sometimes that’s a good thing." The top eight teams from each of the three regionals advance to the 2007 NCAA Championship May 22-25, at LPGA International in Daytona Beach, Fla. "We’ve had a bit of an up-and-down season," said Hester. "We’ve played an extremely difficult schedule and had a really good stretch here in the spring. Hopefully, we’re peaking at the right time. Because we do have such a young team, every opportunity we have to play is a chance to gain experience and get better." For more information about Arkansas golf, please log on to LADYBACKS.COM.

Central Region East Region West Region
1. Georgia (SEC) 1. Duke 1. Arizona State
2. Vanderbilt (SEC) 2. UCLA 2. Pepperdine
3. Southern California 3. Auburn (SEC) 3. Florida (SEC)
4. Tennessee (SEC) 4. Purdue 4. Oklahoma State
5. Arizona 5. Texas A&M 5. BYU
6. Michigan State 6. North Carolina 6. Stanford
7. TCU 7. Alabama (SEC) 7. Denver
8. Baylor 8. Wake Forest 8. New Mexico
9. ARKANSAS (SEC) 9. South Carolina 9. UC-Irvin
10. Kent State 10. Virginia 10. San Jose State
11. Ohio State 11. Florida State 11. UNLV
12. Northwestern 12. LSU (SEC) 12. San Francisco
13. Michigan 13. Louisville 13. Hawai’i
14. Missouri 14. South Florida 14. California
15. SMU 15. North Carolina State 15. Idaho
16. Maryland 16. Birmingham-Southern 16. Washington State
17. Indiana 17. Furman 17. Campbell
18. North Carolina-Wilmington 18. College of Charleston 18. Nebraska
19. Oral Roberts 19. Western Carolina 19. Memphis
20. Southern Illinois 20. Jacksonville State 20. Sacramento State
21. St. Francis 21. Jackson State 21. Columbia-Barnard
Individual Qualifiers Individual Qualifiers Individual Qualifiers
Gerina Mendoza, UTEP Aruka Felgueroso, Coastal Carolina Kay Hoey, Long Beach State
Sara Wikstrom, UALR Lene Krog, East Carolina Jennifer Shipley, Fresno State
Noriko Nakasaki, Notre Dame Amanda Mathis, Mississippi State Lehua Wise, New Mexico State

Sports Category : Golf (W)