comscore script

Landry makes another run at Golf Classic

Landry makes another run at Golf Classic

EL PASO, Texas-University of Arkansas men’s golfer Andrew Landry is back on the links this week, participating for his second time at the 34th Annual Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic. The event is played at the Par-71, 6,842- yard El Paso Country Club, and hosted by the Sun Bowl Association. In last year’s tournament Landry shot a 9-under 204(67-69-68,culminatingin a tie for third place with Jonas Blixt of Florida State and Trent Leon of Oklahoma State. Leon is also making an appearance in this year’s event.

This year’s tournament features six players who participated in the 2008 World Amateur Team Championships in Australia – Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State), Nick Taylor (Washington), Jesper Kennegard (Arizona State), Jorge Campillo (Indiana), Billy Horschel (Florida) and Henrik Norlander (Augusta State).

Besides Landry and Leon, the field includes 8 other returning players – Horschel, Erik Flores (UCLA), Chesson Hadley (Georgia Tech), Adam Mitchell (Georgia), Corey Nagy (Charlotte), Zach Sucher (UAB), Kyle Stanley (Clemson) and Mike Van Sickle (Marquette).

Five of the top 10 amateur golfers in the R&A World Amateur Golf Rankings will be competing in the event – No. 2 Campillo, No. 3 Fowler, No. 6 Sucher, No. 7 Mitchell and No. 10 Stanley. In all, 13 players from 10 of the top 12 schools in the nation will be competing in the event.

"The strength of the field gets better each year," said Bob Kimble, tournament director. "Realistically, this is a quality collection of the top amateur golfers in the world. It should make for an exciting event."

Last season, the Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic ranked as the No. 1 tournament in the country for the fourth consecutive season, according to the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index.

Throughout the years, many Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic competitors have gone on to pursue successful careers in the Professional Golfers’ Association of America and on the PGA Tour. Some of the past champions include Ricky Barnes (2000), Notah Begay (1994), David Duval (1991), Matt Kuchar (1999), Davis Love III (1984), Chris Nallen (2003), Jerry Pate (1974), Nicholas Thompson (2004) and Tiger Woods (1995).

Sunday’s events began with the Titleist Longest Drive Contest and the PING Putting Contest, in which Landry tied for 15thplace, followed by the College/AM Practice round.

Titleist Longest Drive Contest Top 15

1. Corey Nagy, Charlotte, 353 yards; 2. Mike Van Sickle, Marquette, 349; 3. Adam Mitchell, Georgia, 348; T4. Jesper Kennegard, Arizona State, and Kyle Stanley, Clemson, 344; 6. Jarin Todd, Sonoma State, 338; 7. Tim Sluiter, USC, 331; 8. Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State 329; 9. Erik Flores, 328; 10. Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech, 325; 11. Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine, 324; T12. Kevin Foley, Penn State, and Jason Millard, Middle Tennessee, 320; 14. Matthew Swan, Alabama, 319; T15. Russell Henley, Georgia, Matthew Hill, North Carolina State, and Charlie Holland, Texas, 318.

PING Putting Contest Top 15

1. Kevin Foley, Penn State, 19; T2. Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State, and Corey Nagy, Charlotte, 20; T4. Kevin O’Connell, North Carolina, and Jorge Campillo, Indiana, 21; 6. Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine, 22; T7. Russell Henley, Georgia, and Billy Horschel, Florida, 23; T9. Jesper Kennegard, Arizona State, Trent Leon, Oklahoma State, Adam Mitchell, Georgia, and Kyle Stanley, Clemson, 24; T13. Matthew Hill, North Carolina State, and Mike Van Sickle, Marquette, 25; T15. Jonathan Hodge, Chattanooga, Andrew Landry, Arkansas, Nick Taylor, Washington, and Jarin Todd, Sonoma State, 26.

Tournament play begins on Monday at 8:00 a.m. (MT) at the El Paso Country Club, with the first and second rounds.

Sports Category : Golf (M)