comscore script

Lewis McCurdy honored by SEC

Lewis McCurdy honored by SEC

Jump to SEC honors FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas women’s golfers Stacy Lewis and Amanda McCurdy earned Southeastern Conference first team honors the league office announced today. “I’m so proud of both of them and of the entire team,” said Arkansas head coach Kelley Hester. “It’s great to have two athletes selected in a very strong conference.” Lewis, a Woodlands, Texas, native, was a first-team selection last year as well becoming the first Lady Razorback ever honored on the first-team. Lewis has a 74.48 stroke average, ranking second on the team. She became the first-ever Lady Razorback to win the SEC individual title and was both a first-team and SEC Freshman of the Year honoree last year. Lewis is also the first all-American the golf team has produced. McCurdy, an El Dorado, Ark., native is a two-time second-team selection and earns her first first-team honor today. McCurdy leads the team with a 74.30 stroke average and has two wins under her belt this year. “The conference is very deep,” said Hester, “and both of them have been keys to our success this year. Cort (Courtney Mahon) just missed a second-team selection and again that just shows how good this team really is.” Tennessee’s Judi Pavon earned SEC Coach of the Year while South Carolina’s Whitney Simons was named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. League golfer of the year honors went to Auburn’s Maria Martinez while Georgia’s Taylor Leon was the SEC Freshman of the Year. Arkansas is coming off a solid fifth-place showing at the SEC Championship last week in Franklin, Tenn. The Lady’Backs, currently ranked 10th in the Golfweek poll, await word of their NCAA Regional selection announced May 1. Arkansas will compete in one of three regionals at Auburn, Wash.; College Station, Texas or Brown’s Summit, N.C. For more information about Arkansas golf, please log on to LADYBACKS.COM.2006 SEC Women’s Golf AwardsSEC COACH OF THE YEARJudi Pavon, TennesseeSEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEARWhitney Simons, South CarolinaSEC GOLFER OF THE YEARMaria Martinez, AuburnSEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEARTaylor Leon, GeorgiaFIRST-TEAM ALL-SECJenny Suh, Alabama, Jr. Maria Martinez, Auburn, Sr.
Stacy Lewis, Arkansas, So. Amanda McCurdy, Arkansas, Sr. Taylor Leon, Georgia, Fr. Whitney Wade, Georgia, Jr. Marci Turner, Tennessee, So. Jacqui Concolino, Vanderbilt, Fr. SECOND-TEAM ALL-SECNicole Hage, Auburn, Jr. Margaret Shirley, Auburn, So. Sandra Gal, Florida, So. Mallory Hetzel, Georgia, Fr. Amanda Mathis, Miss. State, Jr. Golda Johansson, Tennessee, Sr. Nicole Smith, Tennessee, Fr. Chris Brady, Vanderbilt, Jr.

Sports Category : Golf (W)