comscore script

Mallett named to O’Brien Watch List

Mallett named to O’Brien Watch List

Fort Worth, Texas – University of Arkansas quarterback Ryan Mallett has been named to the 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, it was announced Wednesday by the Davey O’Brien Foundation. This year’s list, which was compiled by a subset of The O’Brien National Selection Committee, features 30 of the nation’s top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2010 college football season.

In 2009 which was his first season as a starter in the SEC, Ryan Mallett set or tied 16 different Arkansas school records. He also led the SEC in touchdown passes (30), passing yards per game (278.8) and total offense (276.5) and was named a second-team All-SEC honoree by the AP and league coaches.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to be awarded The O’Brien. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 25. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 22. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9.

The 34th Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 21, 2011 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2010 Davey O’Brien Watch List
Matt BarkleyUSCSOPac-10
Zach CollarosCincinnatiJRBig East
Dwight DasherMiddle TennesseeSRSun Belt
Ricky DobbsNavySRIndependent
Nathan EnderleIdahoSRWAC
Nick FolesArizonaJRPac-10
Blaine GabbertMissouriJRBig 12
Robert GriffinBaylorJRBig 12
Jacory HarrisMiamiJRACC
Jerrod JohnsonTexas A&MJRBig 12
Landry JonesOklahomaSOBig 12
Colin KaepernickNevadaSRWAC
Case KeenumHoustonSRC-USA
G.J. KinneTulsaJRC-USA
Jake LockerWashingtonSRPac-10
Andrew LuckStanfordSOPac-10
Ryan MallettArkansasJRSEC
Greg McElroyAlabamaJRSEC
Kellen MooreBoise StateJRWAC
Josh NesbittGeorgia TechSRACC
Christian PonderFlorida StateSRACC
Taylor PottsTexas TechSRBig 12
Terrelle PryorOhio StateJRBig Ten
Tom SavageRutgersJRBig East
Ricky StanziIowaSRBig Ten
Tyrod TaylorVirginia TechSRACC
Scott TolzienWisconsinSRBig Ten
Russell WilsonNC StateJRACC

Sports Category : Football