comscore script

Mason Overstreet Invited to Sun Bowl Marathon College All-America Golf Classic

BY Mike Cawood
3 weeks ago

FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas golfer Mason Overstreet will be among the nation’s top collegiate golfers at the 44th annual Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic, which is set for Nov. 18-20 at the El Paso (Texas) Country Club.

Overstreet, a junior from Kingfisher, Okla., will be making his second appearance at the event. The 54-hole event will consist of a skills competition on Nov. 18 (Sunday), 36 holes of golf on Nov. 19 (Monday) and 18 final holes on Nov. 20 (Tuesday).

The field of 29 includes 17 of the top 101 players in the World Amateur Golf Rankings – 14 of the top 50 players in the college GolfStat rankings – and nine players from SEC member institutions.

The Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic is one of the premier college golf tournaments in the country. Some of golf’s brightest stars have traveled to El Paso to compete in the tournament since its inaugural year in 1974. Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jordan Spieth, Dustin Johnson, Webb Simpson and Rickie Fowler are just a handful of past participants who went on to have successful PGA careers. Sun Bowl All-America Golf Classic Alumni have combined to win 52 major championships and have earned over $2 billion in career earnings.

Overstreet earned an invitation to last year’s Classic after finishing runner-up at the 2017 NCAA Championship. He earned a second invitation this year after tying for seventh at last year’s Classic, shooting an 8-under-par 205 (70-69-66), as well as making the round of 16 at the 2018 U.S. Amateur. He is currently 47th in the GolfStat rankings, 62nd in the World Amateur Golf Rankings and 24th-ranked amateur in the United States. In four events this season, Overstreet has four top 20 finishes, including two in the top 10, and has a scoring average of 70.75. He has shot par or better in eight of his 12 rounds this season. For his career, Overstreet owns a 72.12 stroke average.

Overstreet is the ninth Razorback to be invited to the prestigious event, joining Craig Lile (2000), Andrew Dahl (2003), Andrew Landry (2007 and 2008), David Lingmerth (2009), Sebastian Cappelen (2011, runner-up in 2012 and 2013), Austin Cook (2011), Taylor Moore (2015) and Charles Kim (2016).


2018 Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic Schedule

Sunday (Nov. 18)
9 am – Titleist Long Drive
10 am – PING Putting Contest

Monday (Nov. 19)
8 am – First and Second Rounds

Tues­day (Nov. 20)
8 am – Final Round

The Field
Chun An Yu (Arizona State)
Alex del Rey (Arizona State)
Mason Overstreet (Arkansas)
Garrett May (Baylor)
Austin Squires (Cincinnati)
Bryson Nimmer (Clemson)
Turk Petit (Clemson)
Chandler Eaton (Duke)
Alex Smalley (Duke)
Spencer Ralston (Georgia)
Matthias Schmid (Louisville)
Peng Picaikool (Mississippi State)
Philip Knowles (North Florida)
Travis Trace (North Florida)
Joshua Martin (North Carolina)
Stephen Franken (NC State)
Brad Dalke (Oklahoma)
Quade Cummins (Oklahoma)
Blaine Hale (Oklahoma)
Hayden Wood (Oklahoma State)
Austin Eckroat (Oklahoma State)
Jackson Suber (Ole Miss)
Brandon Smith (Texas A&M)
Walker Lee (Texas A&M)
Harry Hall (UNLV)
John Augenstein (Vanderbilt)
Will Gordon (Vanderbilt)
Patrick Martin (Vanderbilt)
Thomas Walsh (Virginia)