comscore script

McDonnell and Uudmae Garner SEC Awards

McDonnell and Uudmae Garner SEC Awards

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Southeastern Conference announced its postseason awards on Monday night and Arkansas head coach John McDonnell and senior Jaanus Uudmae both picked up accolades after turning in phenomenal outdoor campaigns. McDonnell was named the SEC Outdoor Track Coach of the Year and Uudmae was tabbed as the Scholar Athlete of the Year, as voted on by the league’s head coaches.
At the SEC Outdoor Championships in Nashville, Tenn., McDonnell guided his Razorbacks to a dominating victory with 169 points over second-place Florida’s 116. Their win gave Arkansas its 21st outdoor conference crown and 76th league title overall since 1974, including cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field. It also completed UA’s SEC triple crown for the 19th time in McDonnell’s career.
UA athletes accounted for five events championships, while sophomore Peter Kosgei was given the Commissioner’s Trophy for earning the most individual points (26).
To say Uudmae has excelled in his academic endeavors is an understatement. As a computer science major he has maintained a 4.0 GPA and is also a member of the SEC and Lon Farrell Academic Honor Rolls. He claimed both the SEC Indoor and Outdoor Triple Jump Championships, becoming the first Razorback athlete since two-time Olympian Robert Howard in 1997 to claim both titles in the same year.

2005 SEC Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Postseason Awards
Coach of the Year
John McDonnell, Arkansas

Runner of the Year
Kerron Clement, Florida
Field Athlete of the Year
Edis Elkasevis, Auburn
Freshman Runner of the Year
Xavier Carter, LSU
Freshman Field Athlete of the Year
Michael Mason, Kentucky
Scholar Athlete of the Year
Jaanus Uudmae, Arkansas

Sports Category :