comscore script

McDonnell Honored by the Southeastern Conference

McDonnell Honored by the Southeastern Conference

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. Arkansas’ John McDonnell was chosen as the SEC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year, it was announced by the conference on Tuesday.

The award marks McDonnell’s 13th consecutive SEC Cross Country Coach of the Year award and 16th overall after guiding his Razorbacks to another SEC Championship. The Hogs won Arkansas’ 34th-consecutive cross country conference title and its 17th-consecutive SEC cross country title. The title win also marks Arkansas’ 82nd conference title (cross country, indoor and outdoor).

McDonnell has been named National Coach of the Year 12 times in indoor track, 11 times in outdoor track and seven times in cross country for a total of 30 awards. He has been Conference Coach of the Year a remarkable 48 times, and Region Coach of the Year 61 times.

Arkansas will host the NCAA South Central Regional Championships before heading to Terre Haute, Ind. for the NCAA Championships. The Razorbacks will be making their 33rd appearance at the NCAA Cross Country Championships when the Hogs take to the course in November.

’s Emmanuel Bor and Georgia’s Sarah Madebach were named the 2007 SEC Male and Female Cross Country Athletes of the Year. Alabama’s Andrew Kirwa was named the 2007 SEC Male Freshman of the Year while Arkansas’ Jillian Rosen was named SEC Female Freshman of the Year. Women’s coach Lance Harter, also of Arkansas, was voted as women’s Coach of the Year. The awards were voted on by the league’s coaches.

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)