comscore script

McFadden Johnson and Nutt Earn Honors from the Little Rock Touchdown Club

McFadden Johnson and Nutt Earn Honors from the Little Rock Touchdown Club

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas sophomore sensation Darren McFadden added four more awards to his resume while teammate Robert Johnson and Razorbacks’ head coach Houston Nutt each garnered honors of their own from the Little Rock Touchdown Club on Thursday.

McFadden was named national player of the year, Southeastern Conference player of the year, SEC offensive player of the year and Arkansas’ most valuable player by the club’s members. McFadden, the Heisman Trophy runner-up and consensus first-team All-American, rushed for a school record 1,558 yards and 14 touchdowns this season.

Johnson was named as the inaugural recipient of the Paul Eells Award. The award is presented to the Razorback player who has exhibited perseverance, determination, courage, and resolve in the face of difficult circumstances while also continuing to uphold the highest of standards as a player, teammate and student, with the most positive of attitudes. The award was established in honor of the long-time KATV sports director and Voice of the Razorbacks who died tragically in a car accident last July. Johnson has remained a valuable team leader and contributor after overcoming injuries and switching positions early in the season.

Nutt was tabbed by club members as the SEC Coach of the Year. The ninth-year head coach guided the Razorbacks to a 10-3 record, including a 7-1 SEC mark, and a SEC Western Division championship. The Hogs will complete their 2006 season on New Year’s Day with a match-up with Wisconsin in the 2007 Capital One Bowl in Orlando, Fla.

The awards will be presented on Thursday, Jan. 11 in a banquet at the Embassy Suites hotel in Little Rock. For banquet ticket information, fans may visit

Sports Category : Football