comscore script

McFadden Named Heisman Finalist

McFadden Named Heisman Finalist

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas tailback Darren McFadden was selected as one of three finalists for the 2006 Heisman Memorial Trophy it was announced Wednesday evening on ESPN’s SportsCenter.

McFadden is joined by senior Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith and senior Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn. McFadden, the lone sophomore invited to New York City, rushed for a school record 1,558 yards and 14 touchdowns this season, while throwing three touchdown passes and returning a kickoff 92 for a touchdown.

McFadden is first player in Arkansas history to be named a finalist for college football’s most prestigious honor. He is also a finalist for the Doak Walker Award given to the nation’s top running back and was named the unanimous SEC Offensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press and the SEC coaches.

The Heisman Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s most outstanding college football player. The winner will be announced on a live ESPN special that will air from 6-8 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 9, in New York City.

Sports Category : Football