comscore script

McFadden Named to Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

McFadden Named to Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas junior Darren McFadden has been named to the 2007 watch list for the Walter Camp Player of the Year it was announced by The Walter Camp Football Foundation on Wednesday.

McFadden is one of 35 players named to the watch list for the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football award. The Little Rock native was one of four 2006 first-team Walter Camp All-Americans on this year’s list. California’s DeSean Jackson, Ohio State’s James Laurinaitis and West Virginia’s Steve Slaton are the others that fit that bill.

McFadden rushed for a school-record 1,647 yards last season and captured the 2006 Doak Walker Award. He was a consensus first-team All-American and finished second in the Heisman Trophy balloting as a sophomore.

The 2007 watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in early November. The 2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Jan. 12, 2008 at Yale University Commons in New Haven. Last year’s recipient was Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith.

2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year “Watch List”

Anthony Alridge, RB, Senior, Houston

Travis Beckum, TE, Junior, Wisconsin #

Earl Bennett, WR, Junior, Vanderbilt

Yvenson Bernard, RB, Senior, Oregon State

Tommy Blake, DL, Senior, TCU

John David Booty, QB, USC

Colt Brennan, QB, Senior, Hawaii #

Jasper Brinkley, LB, Senior, South Carolina

Brian Brohm, QB, Senior, Louisville

Dan Connor, LB, Senior, Penn State

Chase Daniel, QB, Junior, Missouri

James Davis, RB, Junior, Clemson

Jarett Dillard, WR, Senior, Rice #

Glenn Dorsey, DL, Senior, LSU

Michael Hart, RB, Senior, Michigan #

Omar Haugabook, QB, Senior, Troy

Jonathan Hefney, DB/KR, Senior, Tennessee

P.J. Hill, RB, Sophomore, Wisconsin

Chad Henne, QB, Senior, Michigan

DeSean Jackson, WR/KR, Junior, California *

Lawrence Jackson, DE, Junior, USC

Tyson Jackson, DL, Junior, LSU

Ian Johnson, RB, Junior, Boise State

James Laurinaitis, LB, Junior, Ohio State *

Nate Longshore, QB, Junior, California

Mario Manningham, WR, Senior, Michigan

Colt McCoy, QB, Sophomore, Texas

Darren McFadden, RB, Junior, Arkansas *

Kalvin McRae, RB, Senior, Ohio

Matt Ryan, QB, Senior, Boston College

Ray Rice, RB, Junior, Rutgers #

Steve Slaton, RB, Junior, West Virginia *

C.J. Spiller, RB, Sophomore, Clemson

Tyrell Sutton, RB, Junior, Northwestern

Limas Sweed, WR, Senior, Texas

Aquib Talib, DB, Junior, Kansas

Pat White, QB, Junior, West Virginia

* – 2006 Walter Camp First Team All-American # – 2006 Walter Camp Second Team All-America

Sports Category : Football