comscore script

McFadden Tops Straw Poll For Sixth-Straight Week

McFadden Tops Straw Poll For Sixth-Straight Week

The sixth Straw Poll of the 2007 college football season has been tallied and the panel–consisting of nine members of the college football media–once again has Arkansas running back Darren McFadden as the leader in the race to win this year’s Heisman Trophy.McFadden, a junior, has led all six of the weekly polls taken this season.McFadden, who is coming off a 122-yard effort against Chattanooga, totaled 38 points and now holds a 10-point advantage over sophomore Florida quarterback Tim Tebow (28).

Boston College quarterback, Matt Ryan (23), was third, while Michigan’s Michael Hart was fourth (13). Cal’s DeSean Jackson and Missouri’s Chase Daniel tied for fifth with 12 points each.

McFadden captured four first place votes, while Tebow took three. Ryan and Jackson each had one. is conducting a Heisman straw poll each week during the college football season. The idea is to get a good sense of voter sentiment as the season progresses. There are nine Heisman voters canvassed from across the various Heisman voting regions and they vote for five players each week. The tabulations are made on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis, with five points for a first-place vote, four points for a second-place vote, three points for a third-place vote and so on. In a unique feature to the poll, a Heisman Trophy winner’s vote is occasionally added to the mix. The poll so far this year has included the votes of 2004 winner Matt Leinart of USC, 1995 winner Eddie George of Ohio State and 2000 winner Chris Weinke of Florida State. This week’s poll results, with total points and first-place votes in parentheses:1. Darren McFadden, Arkansas—38, (4)

2. Tim Tebow, Florida—28, (3)

3. Matt Ryan, Boston College—23, (1)

4. Michael Hart, Michigan—13

5. DeSean Jackson, Cal—12, (1)

Chase Daniel, Missouri— 12

7. Glenn Dorsey, LSU—4

8. Graham Harrell, Texas Tech—2

9. Rashard Mendenhall, Illinois; Dennis Dixon, Oregon; Steve Slaton, West Virginia—1

The Straw Poll Heisman votersTom Dienhart (The Sporting News)Austin Murphy (Sports Illustrated)Stewart Mandel (Sports Illustrated) B.J. Schecter (Sports Illustrated)Olin Buchanan ( McCready (Mobile Register Guard) Ted Lewis (New Orleans Times-Picayune)Dick Weiss (New York Daily News)J.B. Morris, ESPN.comSept. 24 Heisman Voter: Chris Weinke, 2000 winner, FSU

Sept. 6 Heisman Voter: Matt Leinart, 2004 winner, USCAug. 31 Heisman Voter: Eddie George, 1995 winner, Ohio State

Sports Category :