comscore script

Men’s Basketball Schedule Announced

BY ANDRES FOCIL
Men’s Basketball Schedule Announced

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — The University of Arkansas’ Southeastern Conference men’s basketball schedule was released by the league office on Thursday. Included in the Razorbacks’ 16-game slate are five nationally televised contests on the ESPN family of networks and eight contests at Bud Walton Arena bringing Arkansas total number of home games to 20. Each of Arkansas’ 16 SEC games will be televised either regionally or nationally and the Hogs home schedule includes games against Mississippi State, LSU, Auburn, Vanderbilt, South Carolina, Florida, Alabama and Ole Miss. “I am glad to finally have our schedule,” Arkansas coach Mike Anderson said. “The non-conference schedule will allow our team to develop right before our fans eyes. It also presents challenges for our basketball team as it prepares for SEC play. Our home schedule allows our fans to see and get involved with Razorback basketball. Our fans are the best in the country and make Bud Walton Arena one of the toughest venues to play in, with their support we are going to make it even tougher.” Arkansas’ SEC schedule opens at home against Mississippi State on, Saturday, Jan. 7, at 8 p.m. The first SEC contest is one of seven scheduled for the month of January and continues with the Razorbacks traveling to Ole Miss on Wednesday, Jan. 11. Arkansas returns home on Saturday, Jan. 14, to take on LSU before their first Super Tuesday contest of the year at Lexington, Ky., on Tuesday, Jan. 17 against the Kentucky Wildcats. Arkansas closes out January with three games, Wednesday, Jan. 25, against Auburn, Saturday, Jan. 28, at Alabama and at Bud Walton Arena on Tuesday, Jan. 31, against Vanderbilt in another Super Tuesday contest. The February calendar includes nine games, with just four in the friendly confines of Bud Walton Arena. Back-to-back road games open the month at LSU on Saturday, Feb. 4, and at Georgia on Wednesday, Feb. 8. The Hogs return to Bud Walton on Saturday, Feb. 11 to take on South Carolina before a game in Knoxville, Tenn., on Wednesday, Feb. 15. The February schedule continues with a home game against Florida on Saturday, Feb. 18 and concludes with perhaps Arkansas’ toughest conference challenge, a three-game stretch in just six days. Those games begin with Alabama at Bud Walton Arena on Thursday, Feb. 23, continue at Auburn on Saturday, Feb. 25, and end the month at home against Ole Miss on Tuesday, Feb. 28. The Razorbacks’ final game of the season is slated for Saturday, March 3, in Starkville, Miss. The 2012 SEC Championship is set for March 8-11 in New Orleans, La. The conference television package has the Razorbacks playing five games on the ESPN family of networks, seven on the SEC Network, two on Fox Sports and two on Comcast Sports South. All but one of Arkansas’ 16 SEC contests is also scheduled to be broadcast on-line on ESPN3.com.



Sports Category : Basketball (M)