comscore script

Men’s cross at SECs

Men’s cross at SECs

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – No. 28 Arkansas Razorback men’s cross country will continue the 2009 season with an 8K race at the 2009 Southeastern Conference Cross Country Championships. The gun will go off at 10 a.m. Sat., Oct. 31 at the Ole Miss Golf Course in Oxford, Miss.

In the current edition of the USTFCCCA weekly rankings, the Razorbacks are listed at No. 1 in the South Central Region and No. 28 in the national poll. The Razorbacks are one of three SEC teams listed, with Alabama ranked No. 6 and Auburn ranked 24th.

Lane Boyer, Michael Chinchar, Cameron Efurd, Rick Elliott, Solomon Haile, Aaron Hamilton, Rio Reina, Patrick Russell and Dorian Ulrey are slated to compete for the Razorbacks this weekend. Also competing at the SEC Championships on Saturday are No. 6 Alabama, No. 24 Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Tennessee and Vanderbilt, along with No. 28 Arkansas.

When the Hogs travel to Ole Miss for the 2009 SEC Championships, Arkansas will be contending for its 35th conference cross country title. The Razorbacks won 17-straight SWC titles (1974-1990) and went on to win 17-straight SEC titles (1991-2007).

UA harriers have won 10 of the 18 SEC individual titles since Arkansas joined the league in 1991. Of the 10 title winners, three were repeat winners, winning two-consecutive titles (Godfrey Siamusiye, 1995-96; Michael Power, 1998-99; Josphat Boit, 2004-05).

For more information on the 2009 SEC Cross Country Championships, visit, or

Download: 10.31.09 SECs.pdf

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)